One more reason why I hope we can continue homeschooling THROUGH high school

With my oldest in 5th grade, I frequently get asked if I will — or rather, it’s assumed that I will — stop homeschooling once my kids are in high school.  Up until the middle of last year, I was uncertain myself.  But at that time, my thoughts started to shift.  I really enjoy homeschooling.  Frankly, it’s the one thing that I think I do really well at, in the multitude of areas that need my attention.  My kids have really flourished in a home-learning environment.  I used to say, “Well, I hope to homeschool as long as it’s effective for our family.”  That’s still true, but I’m seeing more and more that the longer we homeschool, the more effective it is, and the better my kids do in every area of their lives.  The Bible does caution against making “definite” plans for the future, and I don’t know what our coming years hold.  However, I do most certainly hope that we can continue homeschooling, even through high school. 

We mainly homeschool with Sonlight;  as a whole, I’m very satisfied with the curriculum, and with the goals of the company.  Their current tagline is:  “The way you wish you’d been taught.  Guaranteed.”  Now, I have a basic problem with emphatic.  sentence.  fragments.  even.  in.  companies’.  slogans., but that aside, golly, isn’t that the truth for me?  That’s such a major reason of why I’m homeschooling.

Today, I received an e-mail update for a new high school economics course they’re offering.  Reading up on it, it just one of those instances that had me breathing a prayer, “Dear God, please let us get far enough to get to do a course like this.”

~sigh~

Gee.  Lots of things making me sigh today.  Now, ~sigh~, back to prepping for dinner.   

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on October 29, 2007, in Homeschooling, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. For what it’s worth, my daughter didn’t start “homeschooling” until halfway through high school. Even then, I didn’t teach home school. We did primarily half research and writing assignments and half community college. By the time she got done with high school, she had a year of college under her belt. The last semester of high school she did have to go back to public school to keep the government happy (I get a widow’s annuity as long as she’s in a government approved school). So she went to the classes that were beneficial to her and skipped out on the rest (her teachers know why) and I graduated her as a home school student. She currently is at Community College full time and going on to a Christian college next year.

  2. I’ve probably told you this already but we are in our eighth year of homeschooling – first year of high school – and we couldn’t be happier. My children are thriving in their academics and they lead very full and happy lives – partly because they aren’t having to spend 8-9 hours a day in a school. 😉 Honestly, I can’t imagine any other way of life. 🙂 A lot of people seem to be intimidated by high school but I would encourage any homeschooler not to give up without at least trying. High school is not as hard as some might lead you to believe. 😉 There are so many things available to homeschoolers now that even if you feel like you couldn’t teach a certain subject, there are plenty of places to go to get what you need.

  3. I loved homeschooling high school. In fact, I think high school is the perfect time to homeschool – you can take classes at the community college and pursue your own big learning projects and come out with college credits and some real stuff on your resume already.

  4. MzEllen ~ Wow, what a good report about your daughter. It seems like your experience would echo Sara’s, that high school is the perfect time time to homeschool!

    MLBAH ~ I did know that your two kids are older than mine, but I didn’t realize you’ve been schooling for eight years! (Though you’ve probably told me before… and I probably forgot.) I really agree with your last sentence. There are so many parents intimidated by what they don’t know, or “can’t” teach — there are now so many resources available, like co-op classes, community college courses, DVD courses, online courses — that it really takes that argument away.

    Sara ~ That’s a good point, rather like MLBAH said — since you’re not in school for 8-9 hours a day, it frees up your time for other pursuits… And, I really like the idea of graduating high school with college credits under your belt.

Leave a Reply

