10-20-30 Meme

I got tagged by my Uncle Steve at Careful Thought for a 10-20-30 meme.  He said it has been floating around for a while, but I’d never seen it.

So, what was I doing 10, 20, and 30 years ago?

  • 10 years ago:  I had a four month old baby, my firstborn, Ethan.  We were just figuring out that the job I had was not going to work.  It was supposed to be just working from home, which was important because we only had one car.  Well, it turned out that I had to go in to the office one day a week, then two, then my boss was asking for three.  Also, it was supposed to be 10-15 hours a week, but it was more like 20-25+.  Actually, I hadn’t wanted to work at all;  Martin wanted me to.  But, I found the job, in submission to my hubby.  After a couple months of it just being a fiasco, Martin said, “That’s IT!  This is awful!  You’re never working again!!!”  I don’t know if I wanted him to take it that far, but it worked out so just-right:  Martin coming to the conclusion for himself that me working a job (other than raising our children) wasn’t right for our family.  Never again has it been a point of contention:  We’re both happy to have me at home, not working. 
  • 20 years ago:  It was Fall of my freshman year in high school, by far the most hellish of my high school experience.  For academic reasons, my parents had me change schools to a private school that was… upper-middle-class.  I was low class.  Low, low.  We had no money, and I cannot fathom how my parents could have afforded to send we sibs to private school, but they did.  So, here I was, with absolutely no money with which to be even remotely fashionable, and I had braces.  And, I was a brainiac who didn’t realize it wasn’t “acceptable” to do things like raise my hand in class to ask questions of the dorky science teacher (who was actually a very good science teacher).  I was such the outcast.  On top of that, I had a nerdy older brother (whom I love so very, very dearly now, and I’m embarrassed that I was embarrassed of him, back then).  Then, the sort-of saving grace was that the most popular girl in class took a shine to me, which was fantastic, because that meant I had one friend.  However, it caused all the other girls to hate me more, because they wanted to hang around with Aimee, but there was no way they were going to hang around with Aimee when she was with me.  So, they’d send me anonymous hate notes.  Ugh.   
  • 30 years ago:  I was four years old.  I do remember being four.  I was in Miss Polly’s preschool class, but I entered the schoolyear late — they were already up to the letter “P” and I didn’t even know the alphabet!  I didn’t think it was a big deal, but the little girl next to me laughed because I didn’t know the alphabet song.  Turns out that little girl was named Joellene, and we stayed friends past graduation from high school.

Golly.  Whom to tag?  How ’bout Mom Loves Being at Home, the lovely Mrs. Nicklebee, and Joy (the newest addition to my blogroll, who is another homeschooling mom with a worship pastor husband — how could I not add her??)          

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on October 31, 2007, in Memes, Memories. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I’m a newbie blogger (only about 2 weeks old), so I had to actually look up the meanings of “meme” and “tag” as they related to blogging. But now that I’m briefed on the blogging terminology, I believe I’ll accept the tag (I’m sure that’s NOT the proper way to say it–I AM open to further education in blog-ese!). But I’m sure you catch my meaning, even through my ignorant misuse of blogging colloquialisms. I’ll be posting my own 10-20-30 shortly!

  2. Wow, hate notes in 9th grade! I thought those petered out by the end of 8th. I love mini-memoirs, request more in the future.

  3. Oh, I have been tagged! I almost forgot. Hmm … I’ll have to get on that as soon as I finish the post I’m currently working on.

  4. How fun! I always love reading stuff like this about people. I’ve been out of town and just now got to this! (I had about 155 posts in my reader to catch up on but yours was one of the first. 😉 ) I’ll work on it and try to post it over the next couple of days.

  1. Pingback: The 10/20/30 Meme « Pen and Ink … less

  2. Pingback: 10-20-30 « Mom loves being at home

Leave a Reply

