And now, for something completely not important…

I am torn.

Part of me feels some… disapproval for bloggers who work tirelessly to gain more readers.  I almost always immediately (have a few adverbs!) leave a blog that features every known blog-social-networking badge, award, link, etc. on their sidebar.  “Click here to add me to your Bloggorific favorites!”  “Subscribe Now!”  I think that’s silly.  I didn’t start blogging to join some popularity contest.  And, I mistrust the content of blogs whose owners seen to be tailor-making their blogs simply to attract more page-views.

However, I must admit that I feel gratified that a fair number of people read this blog.  WordPress has a page where one can see how many people have visited, and from whence they came, and what they’re viewing.  It’s all very interesting.  I like that my numbers are climbing.   

And, I have registered my blog at ONE site, Technorati.  I check my Technorati page once a week or so.  I don’t know how they tally such things, but I watched my blog rank climb, where it peaked at 145,000-something.  Then, I don’t know if they started calculating things differently, but I slipped back down to 210,000-something.  I was, to my embarrassment, slightly miffed.  What??  How did I lose 50,000+ in ranking, overnight?  I don’t know, but the blog appears to be gaining steam once again.  Right now, my blog is ranked #194,358, and my “Authority” is 41.  I’m not sure what “Authority” is, but it seems to grow as the rank goes higher.

So, long story short, I’m not trying to gain readers, but I’m happy when more people read.  I don’t think my blog will ever be immensely popular, and I refuse to try to puff it up into any more than it should be.  I think I qualify as “really small niche interest.”  

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on November 8, 2007, in Blogging, Random Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I try not to be a slave to such things, but I guess I wouldn’t blog if no one read it. I confess that have put feed links on my blog, because I found more and more people coming to the site from feed aggregators like Google Reader and such.

    The thing that seemed to boost readership was when WordPress (for my old site only, I’m afraid) started putting tags on their main page. My readership tripled when that happened. But then I went out on my own — and off their servers — that boost went away. Now I have to boost readership the old-fashioned way, by actually writing things of interest!

  2. Ah. Well, that makes sense. Somewhat. 😉

    I think that perhaps I WOULD blog, even if no one read it. In fact, I did do that. Eons ago, when I had a blog on MySpace, I frequently got no readers. Then, it eked up to 7 or 8 or 10 per day, and that, to me, was amazing.

    To me, blogging is like journalling (which I have done since high school), but with the benefits of finding some like minds and good conversation.

    But, to me, it’s not really a social thing. I have developed some really wonderful blog-friendships, but the blogosphere is such a miniscule percentage of my real life…

    But then, I’ve always been TOO independent, not giving a rip if anyone cares what I’m doing or not doing, and it’s always been an effort for me to let others into the Karenosphere, and really, truly care about what’s going on in others’ lives. So, maybe I’m just not your run o’ the mill blogger who is looking to connect, be heard, and make friends.

    Yet, I am very, very happy for the readers I DO have, and happy to be useful to the reams of people who have accessed my recipes, and celiac information, and homeschooling tips and schedules….

    It’s an odd dichotomy.

  3. Wow, I’m honored to be allowed entry into the Karenosphere. That sounds like a part of the upper atmosphere…

  4. Well, I was rather mocking myself, with that “Karenosphere” comment. Still, if you want to feel honored, I’m happy to boost your ego. 😀

    Truly, there’s nothing really admirable about the really independent sort. Without Jesus, I would be a hermit. A true, literal hermit who didn’t give a rip about anyone, and who didn’t care to be known. That is sickeningly self-focused, lacking in compassion for others, selfish, cold… Even now, when things are bad (internally), I tend to isolate. It’s through specific effort that I do stuff like (among many other things) blog, to keep myself engaged with people.

  5. very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

Leave a Reply

