Book? Mack-a-seen?

Well, my daughter is 19 months, and it is apparent that if I don’t want to be nursing her forever, I’ll have to wean her.  It was my goal to nurse her through 18 months, but now that she’s past that, it just feels like she’s a little too old to nurse, especially since she’s holding conversations about it. 

I don’t have a whole lot of time to sit down and read, though I love doing so.  Often, I use the time that I’m sitting anyways, while nursing, to read.  In Audrey’s room is a stack of three decorative hatboxes that I use as a side table, and on it is usually my current reading selection.  I do have one book that I just started, but I’m finding it hard to get into it (in spite of its high recommendation from a friend), and a nonfiction book which I just didn’t feel like reading.  And, my current magazine of choice I’d just finished reading last night.

This morning, as Audrey and I sat in the rocker, about to nurse, she looked around, sensing that all was not in order.  “Book?” she inquired.

“No, I’m not going to read a book this morning.”

“Mack-a-seen?”

I burst out laughing.  “No, no books, and no magazines.”

I thought my boy #2, Grant, was an early, perceptive talker.  But this takes the cake.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on November 14, 2007, in Books I'm Reading, Parenting, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Oh how funny. It’s nice that she’s concerned for your comfort while nursing! 🙂

  2. So cute!

    I use our time to catch up on emails and such, so Priscilla has taken to trying to push the computer towards me if I’m not getting to her quite fast enough. I’m going to be hopelessly out of touch when she’s weaned, LOL.

Leave a Reply

