The Bitter Homeschooler’s Wish List

Oh, I am so laughing!!!

This is from DancingBoysMom, and it’s from the first issue of the new journal Secular Homeschooling Magazine.  It’s 25 responses that the writer, Deborah Markus, wishes she could serve up to those who heckle her or her kids over homeschooling.

My faves:

6 Please stop telling us horror stories about the homeschoolers you know, know of, or think you might know who ruined their lives by homeschooling. You’re probably the same little bluebird of happiness whose hobby is running up to pregnant women and inducing premature labor by telling them every ghastly birth story you’ve ever heard. We all hate you, so please go away.

10 We didn’t go through all the reading, learning, thinking, weighing of options, experimenting, and worrying that goes into homeschooling just to annoy you. Really. This was a deeply personal decision, tailored to the specifics of our family. Stop taking the bare fact of our being homeschoolers as either an affront or a judgment about your own educational decisions.

16 Don’t ask my kid if she wouldn’t rather go to school unless you don’t mind if I ask your kid if he wouldn’t rather stay home and get some sleep now and then.

19 Stop asking about how hard it must be to be my child’s teacher as well as her parent. I don’t see much difference between bossing my kid around academically and bossing him around the way I do about everything else.

24 Stop talking about all the great childhood memories my kids won’t get because they don’t go to school, unless you want me to start asking about all the not-so-great childhood memories you have because you went to school.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on November 14, 2007, in Funny Stuff, Homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. That WAS funny! Thanks for sharing that. 🙂

  2. haha, wow, i just starting homeschooling this year, and people wonder why i do it. i started homeschooling, because public schools, were making me a bad kid, so i needed a break from all the sin and evil stuff. so i did homeschooling, well my mom made me actaully:) but now that i read my bible everyday and pray more often and arent surrounded by bad people, am stronger than ever with God, im going back to public school next year, because im not doing so well smart wise with home schooling. i think homeschooling is better than public school because public school has sooo many stinkin temptationss. but i am stronger with God now, and i am ready to face the world:)

Leave a Reply

