Thanksgiving Break and Fall Cleaning

I feel so very domesticated.  I never thought that I’d just be thrilled to have a break from schooling simply so that I could get some deep cleaning done.  Sort of like I never thought I’d be thrilled to get a vacuum cleaner for Christmas.

We don’t have a full day of school on Fridays, ever.  We save them for special outings, the library, errands, and cleaning.  Today was a cleaning day.  It’s still — in many ways — a learning day, because, IMO, I think 10 year old kids should know how to clean a bathroom, and (in my somewhat limited observation), not very many of them do.  So, everyone chipped in with “special” chores, or watched Audrey while everyone else was busy, and we got a lot done today.  Among other things, I was able to get the entire fridge cleaned, inside and out — every shelf and drawer and door was removed, every washable part washed.  Just getting that done makes me feel like today was a success.

So, today was a head-start on next week.  Every year, we take the entire week of Thanksgiving off.  That way, I can be free to deep-clean the house (since we almost always host a meal for family), cook & bake, plus prepare for my hubby’s birthday (which, being 11/23, almost always falls right around Thanksgiving).  I have a list of “special projects” that I need to get done next week, and I’m so happy to be able to have the days off to devote to The List.

We have been schooling for 10 weeks straight, which feels like a Very Long Time.  I usually like to school for six weeks on, one week off.  But, due to how our family’s summer vacation fell, our first week of school wasn’t until September 10th, and if I “indulged” in a week off after only 6 weeks of schooling… well, that would just mean too much time off in November and December, and we wouldn’t get done with school until July.  Ack. 

So… does anyone other homeschooling out there family take the whole Thanksgiving week off? 

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on November 16, 2007, in Introspective Musings. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Nah, but I do the deep cleaning the week after Christmas when there is not much going on. The cobwebs are waiting……

  2. I take a whole week off sometimes just for mental health.

  3. I love that you capitalized The List – LOL! I’m going to be just starting homeschooling next fall. I think Thanksgiving week will probably be a week I schedule off. I like you six weeks on, one week off idea.

    http://inlifeofachild.blogspot.com

  4. Doesn’t just feel GOOD to get things clean like that. 🙂 My son and I worked on his room yesterday afternoon and got part of it REALLY clean and it looks so much nicer!

    We usually only take off Thursday and Friday of Thanksgiving week but sometimes Wednesday too. We take a couple of weeks off for Christmas though so we keep trucking along knowing a nice break is coming. 😉

    Happy birthday to your hubby!!

  5. Sometimes we take Thanksgiving week off and sometimes we don’t. We will this year because we did so much over the summer and the boys have earned it. December has traditionally been pretty light as well. We usually take a couple of weeks before Christmas off and start back up on New Year’s Day, right after we take the Christmas tree down. 😉

  6. Lisa ~ That’s a good idea, cleaning right after Christmas. I think that’ll be my “backup” week, for whatever I don’t get done this week.

    Daja ~ Me, too. Though… the longer I homeschool, and the more kids I have in school, I’ve found that I have to schedule those breaks, or I end up taking off too many, and we aren’t done w/ school until mid-summer. So this year, for the first time, I sat down w/ the calendar and mapped out the entire year of school, breaks included.

    Childlife/Michelle ~ I didn’t know you were considering homeschooling! A lot of people think that it would be better for special needs kids to go to a regular school, but for MANY reasons, it’s most often the BEST thing to do to keep our special needs children at home for school. (Our developmental pediatrician agrees!)

    MLBAH ~ Ugh. The kids’ rooms. About every three months, I sift through the toyboxes, pull out the dressers, empty the closets… NOT my fave job. But, it does feel fantastic when that is completed. I’ll tell my hubby you wished a happy birthday for him… but I think he thinks all my blogfriends aren’t really real. 😉

    Mrs N ~ It’s hard for me to school “light”!! I’m an all-or-nothing gal. NOBODY checks up on homeschoolers in AZ, but I’m uneasy about half-days, because they’re so hard to keep track of, and I want to — with a clear conscience — say, “Yes, we did our entire 35 weeks of school” at the end of the year. KWIM? (I’m not suggesting you’re schooling w/o a clear conscience!!!!!!! I’m just confessing that with my personality, I’m better with ON-school or OFF-school. Hope that makes sense.)

  7. Most years we take off the whole week before to clean and otherwise prepare. When the kids are restless, I’ll sit them down with some easy (not messy) Christmas crafts for them to get started making gifts for people, or I’ll give them extra bits of pie crust dough and a scoop of flour on the table – that’s messy, but it will keep all of them occupied for long periods of time.

Leave a Reply

