This year, I’m sad at Thanksgiving because…

Just kidding.  Sort of.

I thought I’d toy with the title of just about every American blogger’s Wednesday post.  Sort of.

Actually, I am very sad about something, but in a way, it has led me to realize how very blessed our family is, with… family.

This is the FIRST year, in the 13 years of our marriage, that my husband and I will be having –NO– family over for dinner.  Perhaps that’s not quite true.  I think there have been a couple years where we’ve gone elsewhere.  Maybe one year.  All the other years, we have hosted Thanksgiving for both sides of the family, whoever was available, and we’ve had anywhere from 3 to 15 added around the table (and spilling out into the backyard, and crowded around the kitchen counters, and asking, “What time is dinner?” etc.). 

This year, everyone has other plans, or commitments, or is out of state, or whatever.  All of them are legitimate reasons;  I don’t feel like anyone is, uh, dissing us.  But, some of the things that are keeping other family members from coming over have come up at the very last minute, or we would have invited other friends, like small families or singles who don’t have anyone else with whom to spend the holiday.  There’s just not enough notice;  everyone already has commitments for their big meal on Thursday.  So, it’ll just be the six of us.

So, I’m delighted that we have such a wealth of family and friends.  I’m certainly thankful that we have such a richness in them, and so many good Thanksgiving memories.  But, it seems somewhat barren to celebrate Thanksgiving with only our immediate family.  The house should be busting at the seams, and it just won’t be.  😦

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on November 22, 2007, in Extended Family Drama/News, Memories, Sad Things. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. The first year that happened I was sad and even angry. All the years prior we had gone to my brother’s house (although that was also the first year that I was a widow so I was feeling along anyway).

    I refused to do the “Thanksgiving” dinner; the works.

    We ordered in the best pizza in town and rented a dozen movies and had a marathon…and it was good.

    It brought home the importance of the immediate, how fortunate I am to have my children.

    Anyway, not whining or lecturing – just sympathizing. Have a good one -this year we ARE doing the whole thanksgiving thing.

  2. We’ve had just my parents the last couple years…I miss the big crowd of family we used to have sometimes. But I don’t miss the crazy, feuding, stressful crowd that my family always seemed to turn into. So now I’m thankful we’ve got a small, mostly sane family to celebrate our holidays with.

  3. Thanksgiving must be like having to go through Christmas twice a year. I don’t think I’d survive! But if family have always been there, it must feel weird. But I liked the movie marathon idea (though as supermum heads into week 39, movie marathons are all we feel up to)

  4. I came from a large family, and both Mom and Dad did as well, in which it was crazy during the holidays. I know what you mean. It’s was really hard when it was just the three of us (now four). Not having family here was hard to get use to.

  5. Mz Ellen ~ I don’t feel like you’re lecturing, but you’re right, I am very thankful for my children.

    TT ~ Long time, no see. Thanks for the visit!

    Jules ~ I think what I miss most is that my family is NOT the feuding, stressful variety… The parts of the family with whom we usually share holidays with, that is. I really enjoy our times together. ~sigh~ It would be easier to not be sad if I really couldn’t stand everyone. KWIM?

    (u)rd ~ Actually, it works well! Usually, it’s Thanksgiving with one side, Christmas with the other, and New Years for whomever we missed.

    Debbie ~ You know how I feel!!!

  6. It always fascinates me when I read about people missing that sort of thing. I only miss the dream of it ‘cuz the reality is too much of a pain. I did wish, however, that we could have visited my grandparents this year. It was a hard holiday for my grandmother being the first without my grandfather at home. 😦 But the Nutcracker waits for no man…or something like that. 😉

  1. Pingback: Our first GFCF Thanksgiving « Only Sometimes Clever

Leave a Reply

