Our first GFCF Thanksgiving

Well, yesterday was, of course, Thanksgiving.  As previously mentioned, I was only cooking for the six of us.  But I decided to still go all-out and and make it a huge meal so that we’d have leftovers all weekend and I wouldn’t have to cook. 

Actually, I really, really like to cook.  I don’t like the cleaning-up part.  I tried my best to clean as I went, but still ended up with a PILE o’ dishes, which my hubby surprised me by washing, as I went on an after-dinner walk with my toddler, Audrey.  When I got home, he wasn’t quite done, but he shooed off my offers of help, saying, “Go sit down!”  Martin only does dishes once a month or so, but it’s always at just the right time.  🙂

Today is the 23rd, which is my hubby’s 41st birthday.  We are doing absolutely nothing for his birthday, which I feel rotten about.  I’m really not great at planning special surprises.  He asked me not to get him anything (and really meant it), but I wish I could think of more than one thing at a time;  my mental efforts this week were on cleaning and preparing for Thanksgiving, and I feel awful that I couldn’t get something special figured out for him.

Anyways.  It wasn’t until after the meal that I realized, “This was our first gluten-free, casein-free Thanksgiving.”  It didn’t feel like we were missing anything.  We really had a bounty.

I baked pies on Wednesday night (GFCF pumpin, “regular” gluten-free pumpkin, and GFCF lemon meringue), but everything else, I made at a fairly leisurely pace on Thursday morning and early afternoon.

We had:

  • Turkey (I found fresh, free-range turkey for only $1.29 a pound!  Smokin’ deal.)
  • Stuffing (made with red & “regular” quinoa, and GFCF bread)
  • Fresh cranberry sauce
  • Baked yams (I make mine not-so-sweet)
  • Mashed potatoes with roasted garlic
  • Gravy
  • Fresh spinach salad
  • Garlic-braised broccoli
  • Corn with red bell pepper
  • Fruit salad
  • Pies

The only thing that’s really conspicuously missing is dinner rolls, which I just didn’t have time to make.

I liked the way everything turned out except, sort of, the GFCF pumpkin pie.  It was my first time trying one w/o condensed or evaporated milk, substituting coconut milk for the dairy.  The taste was great, and the texture was perfect, but it was oddly dark-colored.  I used a recipe that called for both dark brown sugar and turbinado sugar.  I think next time, I’ll tinker with the recipe and try to get that classic creamy-orange color so that it doesn’t look weird.  It just feels wrong eating brown pumpkin pie.

After we had the kids in bed, Martin and I grew weary of watching ASU getting heartbreakingly pounced by USC, so we popped in a movie.

It was a good day. 

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on November 23, 2007, in Celiac Disease, Dairy-free, Housework, The Dear Hubby, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. My brother-in-law had a good Thanksgiving thanks to USC’s pouncing ASU.

    We all played a board game while listening to him cheering and ocassionally he ran into the living room with two fingers raised saying “Fight on, Fight on.”

  2. Oh, Daja! Does that mean I’m consorting with the enemy???? 😀 Just kidding. We’re actually not huge ASU fans… it’s the local university, but neither of us attended there. But, we do have many friends who attend there, or who went there, and it’s fun to root for the local team…

  3. Well, we are Pasadena folk now, so by default I guess we are USC fans! 🙂

  4. Gosh, I’m stuffed now, just reading all you cooked. Do you have a recipe for the stuffing? I just bought some Silly Yak GFCF and we love it so hopefully it will make a good stuffing.

Leave a Reply

