Like mother, like son

In my last post, I mentioned listening to Led Zeppelin with the kids.  They’re not regularly on our playlist, but have been lately.

A few weeks ago, in our kinship (Biblestudy), my husband mentioned the Zep classic Nobody’s Fault But Mine.  The host of our kinship, Mark, then started talking enthusiasically about the album from which it came.  Martin lamented that he used to own it, but he became a born-again Christian as a young teen within a denomination that is fairly well-known for encouraging its new converts to destroy all their non-Christian music.  And that album is one from Martin’s collection that bit the zealous dust, unfortunately. 

Martin did tell Mark that we do have the song as a cover on CD by the (absolutely stellar Christian rock) band the 77’s, on their 1994 CD Drowning With Land in Sight.  (The 77’s, around since 1982, are now somewhat itinerant, but their trusty and immensely-skilled leader, Mike Roe, is still kickin’ and making music, as a solo artist, with the Lost Dogs, Adrian Bourgeois, Chris Webster, and with the 77’s.) 

Here, the 77’s do Nobody’s Fault But Mine in 1996 at the Cornerstone Festival.

Completely unrelated to this story is the fact that my Dad and Mike Roe bear an uncanny resemblance.  Roe looks like a slightly wider-faced, hipper version of my Dad.

OK, back the the story:

On Tuesday, after kinship, Mark gave Martin an early Christmas present:  Zeppelin’s new double-disc compilation, Mothership.  So, in the truck, we’ve been listening to the CDs (well, actually only the 2nd one, so far).  All of my kids seem to really like it, including 20 month-old Audrey, who loves to sing and dance to anything with a beat.

So.  Yesterday, as we were jamming, I was reflecting on how I’ve always liked Led Zep’s music, but can’t stand Robert Plant’s voice, and because of that, have historically enjoyed covers of their songs more than the originals.  Plant is the King of the Hugely Strained Vocal Chords, and it makes my throat hurt, just listening to him.  So, I turn down the music temporarily to share this with my kids — mostly with Ethan, who seems to really enjoy the band, and is the one who asked to listen to it in the first place.  And, as the music quiets, Ethan pipes up, “Mom, I really like this music, but that guy sings way too high.  They should have someone else sing it instead.”

Hah! 

Taste in music:  Is it genetic??   

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on December 15, 2007, in Christmas, Friendships, Music, The Dear Hubby, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hahah! Brilliant! I’ve actually just come in from jogging with the dog to the strains (literally) of the Mighty Zep. I came across a cover band this week who do Zep better than Zep themselves did at the reunion gig. Their vocalist is outstanding. He can do anyone. An incredible mimic. Check out their version of Rock and Roll – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KzPqY_Df2Qk&feature=user

    They do a whole load of other covers too. Brody Dolyniuk is simply incredible. Anyone who can out-Plant Plant has to be commended…

  2. I’m just now being reminded me of the song “In the Evening.” Is it just me? Cause I couldn’t seem to understand what he’s saying in that song. Except for when he says “In the Evening.” 🙂 Maybe it’s backward masking. Ooooh…

  3. I think “In The Evening”‘s murky vocals are mostly down to the murky production and, ah issues that Page had at the time. Have to completely beg to differ with you about Plant’s vocals, Karen 🙂

    I’ve got all the records on vinyl bar the Song Remains The Same, which I’ve never been able to stand but treated myself to Mothership for work and iPod – amazing remaster job…

    Presence is one of my favourites, too – also of Peter Buck of REM as it happens.

Leave a Reply

