A hard day ends well

I had a hard day on Tuesday.  (I want to say “today,” but as it is after midnight, it was, technically, yesterday.)

In short, it was regarding mothering issues.  Self-doubt, near-desparation, frustration.

I almost posted a great big long blog post detailing all my angst, but decided against it.

Instead, I e-mailed my friend Shellie, then my pastor’s wife, Nancy.  Normally, I wouldn’t trouble Nancy over fairly mundane issues like that, but we are daily prayer partners in preparation for a retreat we’re both attending in January, so we’ve been more involved in each other’s day-to-day life than usual. 

At the last minute, I decided to cc my husband on Nancy’s e-mail.  I was hesitant to, because Martin is the kind who likes to fix everything, as husbands are often wont to do, and his suggestions end up sounding to me like a list of all the multitude of things I could have/should have done differently, to which I normally wail, “You’re making it worse!”

Oddly, though, Martin and I communicate really well in written word.  I think that’s because, in person, we’re too often defensive, reactionary, and distracted by too many things that aren’t at the core of the issue at hand, whatever that issue might be.  Writing out our thoughts gives us time to reflect on what each other is saying, and carefully consider a reply.

Anyways.  I haven’t yet heard back from Nancy, but I received an absolutely lovely note of encouragement and support from my husband.  It made me cry some big tears.

I still have some residual sadness from the day, but not the overwhelming variety that I was experiencing earlier today…  I have much more peace;  I was able to enjoy the rest of the evening.  

(I can’t think of a good way to end this post.  So, I’ll just sign off.)   

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on December 19, 2007, in Christianity, Encouragement, Marriage, Motherhood, Parenting, The Dear Hubby, The Kids, Vineyard Phoenix. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. That’s sweet. I think nothing can lift a woman up quite like an encouraging word from her husband.

  2. Oh, you brought tears to my eyes when you said you got tears in YOUR eyes!

    My husband and I will often write to each other as well. It works so much better for us at times too – especially when we’re angry with each other and needing to work something out. When I’m reading something I can’t yell and get defensive (well I could but yelling at the computer or a piece of paper won’t do much good 😉 ) so it makes me really pay attention to what he has to say.

    I’m glad your day ended up better.

  3. Okay, hugs from me!! Writing is also a better form of communication for hubby and I and I think it is such an awesome blessing to receive enouragement from your hubby. I am glad that your next day started better than your previous night ended.

Leave a Reply

