A new band I like!!

Well, they’re new to me.

They’re called the Robbie Seay Band, and no, I have no idea how to pronounce Robbie’s last name.  I hate MySpace, but the band has, of course, a MySpace site, which does have the redemptive feature of free, full-length songs on it. 

It’s funny:  A couple of months ago, I heard a song that not only I liked, but I knew would work really well for worship at church.  After 13 years of being married to a worship leader, my song-evaluating has shifted a bit.  I used to just think, “I LOVE this song!  We should do it at church!”  And I couldn’t understand why Martin almost never did the songs I suggested.  I’ve finally learned that it has to do with corporateness.  Meaning, it has to be something that the whole congregation can grab onto, both lyrically and melodically.  And hopefully, is speaking directly to God, a la classic Vineyard worship.  When I heard the song, not only did I like it, but I knew it was “corporate.”  But, I could barely remember even a snippet of lyric, and I never ended up Googling them or anything.

So… my hubby was out somewhere, and listening, apparently, to Christian radio (which, since The Effect went off the airwaves here in Phx, we almost never do), and he called me on his mobile, “Have you ever heard this song:  ‘la-la-la-la God of heaven come down’??  It’s a GREAT song, and it would be so perfect as a worship song!!”  Well, whaddya think?  It was the song that I’d been sort of telling him about for the last couple of months.

So, I’ll bet, come January, the team will be learning it.  😀

We found the chord chart online.  Even better! 

Anyways.  I like all the songs I’ve heard by them (which is just this evening, looking them up).  Robbie sounds like a cross between Bryan Adams and David Crowder.  The music is mostly guitar-driven, with a bit of electronica, not really poppy, but not really “alternative.”    

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on December 20, 2007, in God/Christianity/Church, Music, The Dear Hubby, Vineyard Phoenix. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I posted here so you wouldn’t miss it. I have been off line for a week in your neck of the woods….NM, skiing. Yep, I came 1000 miles your way.

    Anyway, what a tough week for you. Sorry about the baby in the restaurant, the boys making you batty. I want to ship mine off to school regularly. I see very little fruit for the effort and sacrifice of keeping them home. I have no idea how they will turn out. I pray endlessly for wisdom and grace and patience to be their mother. I feel no peace about sending them to school, so we don’t. This year in a cyber school has been good for us. Sometimes one kid gets to me more than others. I wonder if my mother EVER thought and prayed as much as I do for me as I do for my kids. I think the dynamic of three boys comes into play. We are female and they are boys. The older they get the less I understand how they think and act. Ethan is exhibiting some kind of handwriting problem so we are getting him tested and he may need some kind of physical therapy. I digress, hugs to you, you are not alone in your good works with very little fruit. This is a very hard thing, we want to see fruit for labor. You are a great mom, your kids are no wilder than any other bunch, in fact, my boys asked when we could see you guys again. No words of advice, prayer helps, get Martin more involved in boy-rearing. Take care of yourself.

  2. Just stopping in to say Merry Christmas!

  3. I’ll keep my mouth shut about other people’s music that isn’t Classical. 😉 I did LOVE the Ben Stein trailer though. I think I’m going to go see it. Although I don’t agree with ID I do believe that to stifle any sort of scientific inquiry for the sake of religion (Evolution IS a religion) is pretty scary.

    Merry Christmas. Hope you guys have a great day.

    God Bless.

    Sara

  4. Rubber Chicken Girl

    Got 2 of their albums for Jesse *before* you mentioned them (for Christmas). I did notice their emergent tone of their website. Whattaya gonna do? Did none of their pastors teach Nashvegas proginy (sp) right? Does anyone say “No” to a trend anymore? Rebel against rebellion!! I’ll drop it….

  5. Lisa ~ You still here?? When I read what you wrote, I cried. I know my heart is tender about the whole thing, mothering and all, but pretty much everything you wrote, I could have written, too. The funny thing is (not ha-ha funny), is that I think your boys are so dear, so charming. Your Christmas photo of them just melts my heart. It’s still on my fridge. 🙂 From a distance, I can see how each of your boys could have their challenges, but… what’s so funny to me is that… golly, how do I say it??? When it’s your OWN kids, they’re not only more precious, but their problems are so much more glaring!! KWIM? I think it must be the same with my boys…. I always keep in mind that the woman whose motherhood I respect the most (her name is Brenda, and I’ve known her since before we’ve had kids) loves my boys. I know that those who compare themselves among themselves are not wise… but sometimes, I need the balanced perspective of someone outside of the loop, so to speak, someone whose perspectives I admire, someone who I think is wise. So, sometimes, I really have to chide myself, to remind myself that Brenda likes my boys!! Isn’t that stupid?????? I’m laughing, but I’m serious, too. (I don’t know if any of this is making sense.) I just think that sometimes, we need the insight of others to help us gain proper perspective on our mothering, so we don’t feel like the worst mothers in the world… Because, if you’re like me, satan can throw ALL sorts of lies and accusations, and plant all sorts of fears about their futures, and I need someone to come along beside me and say, “No, Karen, that’s not true.” ~sigh~ SO. I really, really, really appreciate what you wrote. Thank you for taking the time to do so, and sorry it took me so long to reply.

Leave a Reply

