The State of Things — toddlers, politics, illness, and football

Miscellany: 

  • Someone recently remarked to me, “Isn’t this phase of toddlerhood frustrating?  They’re just learning to talk, and can’t communicate very well.”  Well, no, actually, it hasn’t been frustrating.  Audrey is nearly 21 months and is speaking in… well, not usually “sentences,” but in understandable phrases.  Saturday at lunch it was, “Daddy a-lap a-Fweetos?”  “You mean you want to sit in Daddy’s lap and eat Fritos?”  Emphatically nodding her head, she confirmed, “Yes.”  Grant was my my first complex-talker amongst my three boys.  He wasn’t the first to utter a word, but the first to put words together and be able to hold conversation.  I told Grant the other day that Audrey blows doors off of his baby abilities.  Last week, I also heard for the first of surely many times, “Auda-rey do eet a-sef.”   
  • I am bummed out by the state of the developing Presedential primaries.  I am totally dismayed by the Democratic candidates:  Lord, save us from the ultra-scheming, untrustworthy Hillary.  And, of concern to me about Obama, the apple doesn’t usually fall from the tree, as they say, though it does, sometimes.  But, what is of more concern to me than his history is his lack of experience.  I just don’t think he has the experience needed to be a President.  I also sincerely mistrust his motives.  Not that I’m likely to vote Democratic, in any case.  But, I’m not really thrilled with the crop of Republican candidates, either.  I’m looking for an electable candidate with a solid political track record and an upright personal life.  The only one fits that bill, in my perspective, is John McCain.  I absoultely, positively adore McCain.  I’m not suggesting that I have agreed with 100% of his political decisions or current stances.  But, he is probably the most honest politician ever produced in recent memory, and that goes a long way with me.  I’d rather someone tell me, “Here is where I stand” and know that he’s telling the truth — even if I don’t completely agree with his position — than have that person try to spin their own platform into what he thinks I want to hear.  McCain is an open book.  However, he’s 71.  I’m sure he’s a “young” 71, but, still, I think the Presidency ages a person at at least twice the normal rate.  I think McCain would make a fantastic President, but I heartily wish he was a good 10 years younger.  I met him about 11 years ago at a state precinct meeting, which he just happened to attend, not as a scheduled speaker, though, of course, he was called up to say a few words.  I found him to be a very affable, sharp-witted man, with a lot of personal charisma.  He listens well, and responds to the actual questions, not just coming out with canned, practiced statements.  IOW, he thinks well on his feet.  He’s diplomatic, too, which I think is important, especially in foreign affairs.  It’s hard to find an honest, diplomatic politician, but McCain is it.
  • I have been ill since the 26th.  My lungs hurt, and I have been congested and coughing, and my body feels weighted down, internally, with extra gravity or something.  I wish I could just lay down and do nothing for a few days.  What with Christmas and illness, my house is a disaster.  So…  I’m taking a few days (maybe a week?) off of blogging.  Not that I’ve blogged much in the last couple of weeks, but there’ll be even less output from me.  I need to spend what little energy I have on getting my home whipped into shape.  I went to church yesterday, but mostly because I wanted to see the end-of-year video.  I told Martin, “I’ll stay for worship and the video, then I’m going home.”  Well, the video was about 40 minutes long, so with worship, that was most of the service right there.  Then, my father-in-law (who is moving back from Colorado — YAY!!) was at church, and he an my brother-in-law wanted to go out to lunch… then, our friends (it’s a particular treat having friends whom I enjoy who also have children whom my kids enjoy) wanted to join us, and I couldn’t resist.  We all went out to lunch, which I enjoyed immensely and hopefully, I didn’t infect anyone.  Eek. 
  • The Arizona Cardinals finished 8-8 for the season, with a fantastic home win over the Rams yesterday.  I heart coach Ken Whisenhunt.  No playoffs this year, but I’m very hopeful for our next season.  Larry Fitzgerald and Anquan Boldin rock, and Kurt Warner proved himself to be the best backup quarterback in the NFL.  It was the first year ever that my husband didn’t razz me for being a Cardinals fan.  (But then, as a lifelong Packers fan, he’s been on a Favre-induced high all year, which makes him favorably disposed to everyone else’s football proclivities;  all is basked in the glowing, grinning, grizzled light of Brett.)       
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on December 31, 2007, in Family, Friendships, God/Christianity/Church, Housework, Medical Stuff, Political Thought, Random Stuff, The Dear Hubby, The Kids, Vineyard Phoenix. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I’m sorry you’re sick. It sounds like you really need some rest and an o.j. drip.

    That desire to get things back in order seems common in a lot of homes today. I hope you’re able to take it easy and accomplish just enough to keep from going crazy, but without wearing yourself out further. Wish I lived closer. I’d come over and help you get a leg up on your housework. We’re already all sick anyway.

  2. I am sorry to hear that you are not feeling well and hope you actually do take this time to rest your body and allow it to heal itself maybe with the help of some medicines. If I knew how to make GFCF chicken soup and didn’t live on the East Coast, I’d bring you some. Take care of you so you can take of the family and have a Happy New Year. Blessings!

  3. sorry you’re sick we’ll be praying you feel better soon. don’t know if it’s too late but I took Zicam for my last cold and it was gone in less than two days.

    since you’re taking a break i’ll give you a break and let you respond to my tag whenever you get back. 😉

    God bless you in this new year.

    Sara

Leave a Reply

