Coat dreaminess

My husband is more generous than I am.  He truly is.  He’s a penny-pincher most of the year, but when it comes to giving gifts of pretty much any kind, he goes over the top.  When I shop for myself, I’ll often buy something not-quite what I’d like, because the thing that I would truly like is much more money.

In October, I posted about a cringe-worthy coat mishap that I’d had a couple of years ago, then again when I found a fairly inexpensive coat that fit my requirements.  I did ask my hubby for a coat for Christmas, but that was early in October, and I never mentioned it again.  I wasn’t sure if he’d forgotten.  Turns out, he hadn’t.

He didn’t get me the coat that I had wanted, which is the still-great:

But, truly, he did much better with this absolutely fabulous coat, in black.  (This pic is from Overstock.com, but he found it at Macy’s for the same price.)

I love my new coat.  It’s perfect.  And my hubby is dear for buying the perfect coat — both for spending a few extra $$ on it, and for just knowing it was the right coat for me.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on January 4, 2008, in Christmas, Clothes, Shopping, The Dear Hubby. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Oooh, Martin did good!!!!! I like it. 🙂

  2. Well, I got the Radiohead Box edition of In Rainbows. If you’re a boy, believe me, it’s a serious coat.

Leave a Reply

