Grant, the anti-Ethan

I remember before I gave birth to my second son that I just could not fathom what he could possibly be like.  I didn’t have a grid for another boy.  Ethan seemed to me the epitome of boyness, so what would another boy possibly be like?

Then came Grant, who is most certainly all-boy, but since birth, I’ve called him the anti-Ethan.  They are opposites on nearly everything, from personality and personal habits to preferences:  food, clothing, friends, music…  At dinner, Ethan’s favorite thing will be Grant’s least-favorite, and vice versa.  The things Grant struggles with, Ethan finds easy, and vice versa. 

The other day, Grant asked me for a buzz-cut.  This morning, I finally granted his wish.  I should have taken a “before” pic, because his hair was pretty shaggy.  I did, however, take an “after” pic, seen here with Ethan, whose hair is, well, pretty much the opposite of Grant’s.  (Ethan is 10.5yo, and Grant is 8yo.)

 DSC05644.jpg picture by Karen-Joy

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on January 4, 2008, in Family, Motherhood, Parenting, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. That is such a cute picture! It does show their different personalities!

  2. My oldest two boys are exact opposites too. Maybe they’ll be roommates when they get older so one can pick up after the other and the other can cook for the one. 😉

Leave a Reply

