Homemade bread. The bane of my gluten-free existence.

We’ve been gluten-free for over five years, and I bake like crazy:  cookies, quick breads, muffins, foccacia, cornbread, biscuits, cinnamon rolls…  All of them, I’m happy with.  However, the one thing that can make me feel like a gluten-free newbie all over again is regular, homemade sandwich bread.  Every time I make a loaf (or two), I’m disappointed with the results.

However, now that we have five of our six family members on a gluten-free, dairy-free diet, I can no longer justify spending $4.49 on a loaf of bread, no matter how tasty and convenient it is.  So, last night, yet again, I tried making some bread.  I used a trusted cookbook, Carol Fenster’s Gluten-Free 101, and what looked like a good recipe, though I was a wee bit skeptical regarding the amount of starches in it.  I should have trusted my gluten-free baking instincts.

Both Wes and Audrey love it (the bigger boys haven’t yet tried it), and I’m OK with the taste.  But, the texture is more like Food for Life’s g.f. breads — heavy and rather gummy, and nothing like (my much more highly-preferred) Kinnikinnick’s bready-breads.

Grr.

It’s edible.  We’ll eat it.  But, for our everyday sandwich bread, I’m looking for a lot better than “it’s edible.” 

I’d prefer a whole-grain, hearty bread that rises nicely and has a regular-bread texture — that is, soft and on the dry side, NOT gummy.

So, to all my gluten-free compatriots:  What is your favorite completely homemade (i.e., not from a mix) gluten-free bread?  Will you please post a recipe in the comments section (even if it’s really long), or post a link in the comments?  Please?????   

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on January 9, 2008, in Allergies, Celiac Disease, Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, Dairy-free, Digestive Woes, GF Recipes, GFCF Recipes, gluten-free, Whining. Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. looksgoodinpolkadots

    Sorry… no fabulous bread recipe here. I’m in the same boat!

    However, I did hear you make mention of cinnamon rolls which have proved to be the bane of my existence! Care to share how you make them? My family is in DIRE need of yummy, gooey, sweet rolls and all I end up with is a glob of gook! I’m going to go searching and see if there is a recipe lurking in your files somewhere. 🙂

    Good luck with the breads. I will definitely share when I have a stroke of luck.

  2. Hi Karen –
    Here is a link to what we make for sandwich bread – it’s really a wrap or almost as thick as foccacia – you can decide when you make it.

    http://glutenfree.wordpress.com/2007/07/18/gf-wrap-sandwich-success/

    Are you looking for a loaf? Jen on the DelphiForums has a great one. You can find it here:

    http://forums.delphiforums.com/celiac/messages?msg=49402.85

    Happy Eating =)
    -Kate

  3. Have you ever watched someone make gf bread? I went to a class at our local autism support group and there were lots of hints involved..including things like humidity etc that make the difference. I do have a recipe (somewhere) but it just seemed so complicated so i never attempted. DS likes Namaste pancakes for his ‘bread’ and I have a $5 loaf that I eat but I don’t eat much of it….takes me a few weeks to get through a loaf.

  4. Sorry, no recipes, but I wanted to comment. I grew up on gluten-free bread. I had some type of allergy and couldn’t eat regular bread until I was 10 or so. I miss having my Mom make that bread. I could go for some right now!

  5. I recently tried the Tom’s Light Bread recipe, but making it almost a sourdough. It’s wonderful!
    http://delightfullyglutenfree.wordpress.com/2008/01/17/toms-light-bread/

  6. I just made this today and thought it was good. Plus it’s pretty simple. I got it from an online friend.

    Classic White bread

    2c. of rice flour( I grind my own brown rice)
    1 c. potato starch
    1/2 c. of tapioca flour(although I just used more rice flour here)
    3 tbsp. sugar
    1 tbsp. xanthum gum
    1 1/2 tsp. salt
    1/2 c. milk powder
    2 1/4 tsp. yeast
    1 tsp. unflavored gelatin
    1 1/2 c. water( I used about 1 c. of rice milk and the rest water to replace the milk powder as my son has dairy allergies)
    2 tbsp. margarine
    1 tsp. vinegar
    3 lg. eggs

    1.heat water( or rice milk/ water mixture) and margaine on stove to 120-130 degrees, add sugar and yeast. Let stand for 6-9 min. It will be bubbly
    2. mix dry stuff together.
    3. add yeast mixture and slowly mix( I mix in my mixer) slowly add vinegar and eggs. Mix for 3 min.( it will look like thick pancake batter- it is strange, but it does work)
    4. grease loaf pan. lighty cover with tinfoil put into 200 degree oven that has been turned off. Let rise for 30-40 min.( make sure you put your loaf pan on a cookie sheet. Mine overflowed and spilled in my oven the first time)
    5. bake bread at 375 degrees for 35-40 min. It says to cover with tinfoil halfway through baking time to avoid over browning. cool on wire rack. I love this bread so much. It is the first bread that tastes good and tastes real close to homemade whole wheat bread. Don’t expect it to taste exactly like wheat, but it is really good.

  7. Forgot to say I doubled the recipe and made 3 loaves instead of 2. And it still rose nicely. 🙂

  8. I JUST posted my favorite bread recipe. It still contains starches — but it is full of whole grains too! It’s soft and pliable like the old gluten bread I remember and it is NOT gummy! It’s also good on days 2-3 and beyond! (And it’s STILL soft and pliable!!) I Hope you’ll try it! It’s really good and I think its now my favorite!

  9. I use a recipe from Annalise G. Roberts book titled, “Gluten-Baking Classics” and love everything I have ever made from her cookbook. This includes to die for cookies, muffins, cupcakes and so much more. Anyway, her bread recipe contains no rice flour. Email me if you would like the recipe. (I don’t know if I can just publish it online). I like it because it has teff flour, sunflower seeds, sesame seeds, and golden flax seeds in it. It gives it a more multigrain flavor. It also uses a mixture of millet, sorghum, and tapioca flours. My whole family gobbles it up and we especially love it toasted.

  10. Did you ever find a good recipe? I am so tired of baking heavy, gummy loaves that no one wants to eat!

    • Jacqui, I did come up with a recipe that I’m pretty happy with, but it’s still kind of hit-or-miss. Seems like sometimes they turn out fab and other times, they cave. Scroll down to “Savory Breads” on this page: https://onlysometimesclever.wordpress.com/all-the-gfcf-recipes/ I’m currently working on a recipe using the Best Gluten-Free Flour Mix Ever… I just want it to be simple — pull out the bag of mix and 3-4 other ingredients and whip it up in 5-10 minutes. So far, it’s OK, not great. I’ll keep you updated when I hit on something fabulous.

      Thanks for the comment!

  11. Elizabeth Denney

    I am allergic to eggs, potato, soy, corn, dairy, wheat flour, bran, almonds and oats. Basically I am gluten free and more!
    I don’t have a lot of options and I have done my research. I don’t have recipes but I have some links to buy loaves of breads and other goods that you can purchase. I love all of these companies. Sometimes you can find them at local health food shops.
    http://www.samisbakery.com/
    http://www.delandbakery.com/
    Recently I have discovered http://www.chebe.com They have great mixes. Their pizza crust mix and cinnamon roll mix is amazing!

    • Oooh, I wish you weren’t allergic to oats! My newest bread recipe is free of everything on your list except oats. 😦

      Do you make farinata?? My youngest daughter is allergic to sssssooooooooooooooooo many things, so I make farinata almost daily. Garbanzo flour, water, olive oil, sea salt, fresh rosemary. That’s it. 🙂 Here’s the recipe: https://onlysometimesclever.wordpress.com/2009/09/15/you-must-try-this-recipe/ You need a well-seasoned cast iron skillet, and it tastes best fresh, right out of the (very hot) oven. It is FABULOUS when it’s fresh, hot, crispy on the outside and creamy/firm on the inside.

Leave a Reply

