Back when the dollar was stronger…

This is certainly not the most important thing going on in my life right now;  more of an annoyance, really. 

There’s this store in the U.K. called KidsCloset.  It’s a new and used boutique kinda shop.  Round about December/January, they have a sale where, to the U.S., shipping is a flat 5 pounds, no matter how much one purchases.  For two consecutive years, starting before Audrey was born, I made a nice, big purchase of high-quality, unique, funky, lovely clothes, most of it new, averaging about $7 each, including shipping.

My best purchase was a little package of two long-sleeved ribbed tees, by IKKS, each with two buttons at one shoulder, one a sort of kelly green, and the other a darker hot-pink color (magenta?).  They came packaged in a little bag/backpack.  They’re size 74 cm, which is 12 months.  I spent less than $20 on the set, which, to my penny-pinching mind, was still rather pricey — nearly $10 each for baby tees.  However, Audrey started wearing them about this time last year, and she’s just starting to outgrow them now, so I figured that, long-term, it was a good deal. 

So… I tried a little search, to see if I could find the same shirts, but in a larger size.  Um, no.  In fact, I found a lot of IKKS tees (not at KidsCloset) for, oh, $36 or $44 EACH.  Good Lord.  If you have $44 to spend on a baby tee, I figure you …  well, maybe I’ll just cut that judgemental thought a bit short.  Suffice it to say, I think $44 for a tee shirt for a adult is excessive, let alone a baby, who will likely outgrow it in the next 6 months or so.

Even at KidsCloset, the deals are hard to come by, especially when the dollar is so weak right now, which means that I have to spend $2 for each one pound.  Bummer.  It’s just totally not cost-effective to buy anything from overseas right now.  😦  No purchases for me this year.

This is cute, though too big for Audrey, and “only” $30 (not from the aforementioned KidsCloset, but it is from IKKS, the same brand as the sought-after tees):

This is an old pic, at Woolaroc with my friend Shellie and her family in April of last year, but it’s Audrey in the green tee:

  AudreyatWoolaroc-1.jpg picture by Karen-Joy  

~sigh~

I promise, I do have important things on my plate right now, but it’s driving me nuts that I can’t find this tee to buy in a larger size.

ETA:  These fantastic tees ARE available at KidsCloset in 6 months size only.  And now, only 5.99 pounds.  (On the Fall/Winter Girls, page 2, second from the last on the page.)  Too small for Audrey, but, really, someone needs to snatch these up.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on January 14, 2008, in Clothes, Shopping. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. OH but if you are looking for a deal for yourself, my friend just told me she got some stuff on Clearance at Old Navy, so I went last night. I got a pair of jeans that were orig. $34.50, for 3.49. I got some orig. $19.50 shirts for 4.99, and a pair of dressy slacks that had been $34.50 for 8.49. Very nice. I didn’t get anything for the kids. If you can do size 6x and smaller, Toys R Us has all their clearance stuff on extra 50% off also, so they had some really cute $30 dresses for $5, and teeshirts as low as $2. I didn’t have money when I was there on Saturday, but I’ll go back this afternoon and see if there is anything left.

  2. Hey, they even have some cute boy’s clothing there too. Pity it costs nearly twice as much in American dollars.

  3. I think you need to keep some not-so-important-things in your life! I must confess to taking advantage of the state of the dollar to finally get a Now & Zen alarm clock. However, $50 of import taxes later, it didn’t seem such a great idea…

  4. (u)rd ~ You’re right — we do need some not-so-important things in our lives. Hearing of directed attention fatigue has really changed the way I school my boys, and has “allowed” me to not be quite so efficient. 😀 Really, my brain gets tired of all the deep things, and sometimes, I just need a little diversion, like a venture into the realm of little-girl clothes. If you and Supermum haven’t yet discovered the true joy of little-girl clothes, you soon will. 🙂

Leave a Reply

