100,000!

 Oh, goodness.  I was sort of keeping an eye on my number of visitors, like one keeps half an eye on the car odometer when the mileage is about to reach some multiple of 10,000.  I missed, though, when my blog recently hit 100,000 visitors.  Actually, I’m not sure if that’s actual visitors, or page views.  Anyways.  One-hundred thousand seems like a lot to me, in either case.

Most people are here for the gluten-free recipes, but that’s OK.  I arrogantly used to be a tad upset that people were “using” my blog, but I now repent of that ridiculous attitude.  (Especially when I occasionally get genuinely thankful e-mails from readers — most recently from Jenny in FL — who have found my blog to be a great help in adjusting to the g.f. life.  Those are really touching, and I am genuinely glad to be of assistance.)

Whatever your reasons, thanks for stopping by, everyone!!! 

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on February 4, 2008, in Blogging. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Congratulations! It does feel nice to be useful, doesn’t it? – a steady trickle of people still come and read the entires about spica casts in my blog – hopefully they find it comforting that it’s possible to survive the process (with a certain amount of fussing and whinging). Of course, your blog is decidedly low on the fussing and whinging compared to mine. I’d put that down to English rather than religion, mind 🙂

  2. corefoundations

    Blessing others is a blessing in itself. . .

    The fact that you posted your GF recipes seems to indicate you already knew that.

    It is terribly wonderful however when people do let you know how grateful they are. . .letting you know you somehow “touched” another’s life in a positive way.

    But, for each that speaks out, there’s probably 3 in the shadows that are still grateful.

  3. Woohoo! Congratulations on a well-desrved milestone. How are relations with the troll community coming along?

  4. (u)rd ~ Americans *never* whinge. They whine. 😉 I do have my share of whining. I even have a category for it.

    Christine ~ I *do* like to bless others. But, I think, upon starting the blog, I saw it more as like… a syndicated column, only it wasn’t syndicated. I thought I’d develop a nice niche of people who really enjoyed reading my thoughts, and with whom I could converse, share ideas, (nicely) debate, etc. I really had to throw those notions out the window, because, by and large, blogs are more about community, and less about a mutual admiration society. KWIM? And that was a blow to the ego, which, apparently, was in desparate need of a humbing anyways. So, mission accomplished, one way or another.

    Steve ~ Thanks!! Hm. The troll. Strangely, he completely disappeared after I offered to introduce him to a highly intelligent Christian in his area, who also happens to be my dad. 😀 (I did ask my dad in advance, and he said, “Bring him on!!”)

  5. Congrats!! How exciting is that!! I’ve sure loved your blog. 🙂

  6. corefoundations

    Yes, I truly understand what you are saying. (Probably a little too well.)

    But, I love the “community”.

    And who knows, if I “get to know you” well enough, I may start debating things with you (nicely).

    😉

  7. Karen, I just made a blogging faux pas! I tagged you for a meme that’s going around and it dawned on me after I posted it that you have a whole page of random things about you! 😳 So, forgive me for my forgetfulness and just ignore it. 😀

Leave a Reply

