The last week, I have been…

  • Working on my list of projects that I intended to do over Christmas break, but never got done, from cleaning wood blinds, to making valances for some arch-topped windows, to handwashing that quilt that’s been at the bottom of my laundry basket for months and more. 
  • Researching more about the Presidential candidates.  I am STILL heavily in favor of McCain (as I have been since the 2000 primaries), but I have come under some fairly heavy fire from a few friends and acquaintances for my support of him, so I’ve decided to “know why I believe what I believe,” so to speak, and make sure my support is not in error.  I’ve been composing a “Why I Like McCain (and Why I Don’t Like the Other Candidates)” post in my head for the last couple of weeks, but it hasn’t found its way, yet, to my blog. 
  • Potty training.  Still.  There have been breakthroughs — Audrey now tells me she needs to go potty before she does the deed, not after.  She still says, “Change you!” in either case, so my heart goes pitter-pat, in expectation of another pair of soaked jeans.  But, she’s getting better.  She’s still got the internal impasse of, “I won’t go poop in the potty, but neither will I poop in my diaper or underthings.”  So, that’s still an issue.  Oh, well.  I’ve implemented a “poop or get off the pot” policy, having her sit for 10 minutes max.  This usually means that, 10 minutes later, she’ll cry, “Potty!!” or “Change you!!” so I hurry her to the bathroom again, where she squirms uncomforably for another 10 minutes, again, with no results.  That continues from about 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.  It makes for long days.
  • On Friday, some friends called us for an impromptu get-together for dinner, at Pei Wei (yum!), and we ran into my old pastor and his wife and their two kids (plus his wife’s sister and her husband), and had a great time catching up regarding the last four years or so since I’ve seen them.  We are all amazed that, at 34, I must be considered a “grown up.”   They’ve known me since I was 16 and were laughing in amazement at my “transformation.”  I proclaimed, “I wasn’t that weird!” and they insisted that I was.  They have two children whom they’ve adopted, whom I’d never met, and it was wonderful to see them. 
  • Researching our family’s summer trip.  I know.  It’s barely February.  But, my hubby doesn’t want to go camping (still), and I’d rather have a longer cheap vacation than a shorter posh one… so the compromise is US Forest Service cabins, which is just shy of camping.  Most of them run $25-45 per night, have no electricity, and usually no running water.  But some of them are really lovely, and completely by themselves in the middle of the woods, often just a few miles from various National Parks.  The downside is that they can often be booked for 6 months in advance, so I have to plan NOW for our trip in July or August.  It doesn’t appear that we’ll be able to go up to Yellowstone, as I’d hoped, but perhaps Bryce Canyon NP, Zion NP, and the North Rim of the Grand Canyon.  The kids and I and my mom, aunt, and uncle went to the North Rim in May of ’07, but my hubby hasn’t been to the Grand Canyon since he was 15, and not to the North Rim, ever.
  • Semi-planning an overnight backpacking trip with my friend Erin.  Yay!  🙂
  • Plus the regular stuff of being a wife, working on my relationship with God, mothering and homeschooling four children, keeping the house reasonably clean and clean clothes in everyone’s dressers. 
  • Trying not to feel overwhelmed.  I just have a lot going on.  It’s all good.  I truly love my life.  But, I just wish that I could have a few more hours each day while the rest of the world is on pause, so that I could catch up on laundry.  Or actually take a shower every day.  Or go out for coffee with a friend.  Or read more books to my daughter.  Or go on a date with my hubby.  I’m really feeling worn out, and doing my best to be mindfully diligent to not slip into full-blown depression, which is easy for me to do, in this state.  One of the best ways for me to do this is to remind myself to, “Stay connected!”  This means returning e-mails and phone calls, and, honestly, blogging, which I haven’t done much of the last week+.  I also need to be diligent to not check out in the evening after my children have gone to bed… but spending quality time with my hubby and not just curling up with a crossword puzzle or standing at the table folding 6 loads of laundry until 11 p.m. and semi-ignoring him.
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on February 4, 2008, in Blogging, Family, Friendships, Homeschooling, Housework, Marriage, Motherhood, Parenting, Political Thought, Summer Plans, The Dear Hubby, The Kids, Travelling. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. “But, I just wish that I could have a few more hours each day while the rest of the world is on pause” I am right there with you on that one!!! 🙂 There’s just not enough time in a day to get everything in that I want.

  2. ugh! the juggling of balls, me, him, boys, youngest in particular, God, laundry, floors, shopping, cooking. I prayed with a overwhelmed hs mom at church this weekend…tears, she has 6, she pulled 4 from school this year and is not able to do it all. I can relate.

  3. So, ladies, any suggestions?? I can’t see any, currently, though getting a cleaning service is starting to look better and better. $30/week in exchange for my sanity seems like a good swap, right about now.

  4. re: backpacking: yay! re: chores. If you’ve got the $30 a week, I vote get the help and the extra time. 1. It brings a new possible friend into the house. But then you would have to REALLY spend the extra time doing non-chores, and avoid the temptation to, say, reorganize the garage. That would be MY problem, trading the daily duties for much more involved and less necessary ones.

  5. Why not plan your vacation for SUNNY CALIFORNIA?! 😉

Leave a Reply

