There’s nothing that’ll quicken a mother’s heartbeat like…

…walking out of the bathroom to find your six-year-old son in sobbing tears, finger plugging his ear, crying that it, “Really, really hurts.”  Looking at her son, the mother notices a small trickle of blood, easing its way out of her son’s ear, and down his jawline.

It was like a punch to the gut.  There is something eerily unnatural about seeing blood dripping from the ear.

Twenty-five minutes later, we were all on our way to the ER.

To my great thankfulness, my husband met us there, meaning that I didn’t have to herd  four children into triage, etc. 

It turns out that Wesley punctured his the bottom part of his eardrum (with a Q-tip he “just found” in his bed).  This was actually really good news, because it turns out that the wee bones that make it possible to hear are just beyond the top part of the eardrum.

So, it doesn’t appear that Wesley has done any permanent damage to his ear, thanks be to God.  And, now he understands why his parents never let him clean his own ears.

That sight of blood trickling from his ear is, I think, forever embedded in my memory. 

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on February 15, 2008, in Medical Stuff, Motherhood, Scary stuff, The Dear Hubby, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Oooh, I can only imagine the fear that possessed your heart for a time!

    Thankfully, it wasn’t as bad as I’m sure you let your mind wander. . .

  2. Oh my goodness, Karen!!! How scary! I would have probably completely freaked out! I’m so glad it wasn’t any more serious than that and that he will be okay.

  3. How scary! I’m glad he’s ok!

  4. Glad he’s okay – that would have utterly terrified me as well. I’ve caught dudelet on the edge of experimenting once or twice and it always makes my blood run cold.

Leave a Reply

