Martin, Party of Seven

Hopefully, if you know me in real life, you’re not finding out about this for the first time, here.  But, I thought the time has come for me to do a little virtual announcement of another baby joyously added to our home.  S/he will be arriving about October 22.

And, yes, as Lisa commented on the recipe below ;), that’s a major reason why I haven’t been blogging.  Both because I feel cruddy, and because… well, it’s hard to explain, but I get INTENSE nesting syndrome immediately.  I gave into it with my first pregnancy, and happily kept myself in my home, keeping only myself and my husband company for nine months, feeling quite justified for not involving myself in virtually any outside affairs for the whole pregnancy.  I contentedly dropped out of life.

With each subsequent pregnancy, I’ve prepped myself in advance, knowing my tendencies, and tried to pep-talk myself into joining the rest of the world and not avoiding my regular activities and responsibilities, outside the home.  I’m telling ya, it’s hard for me to even go to the library.  Or to Target.  I just want to be at home, with my children, not really talking to anyone, simply taking care of things here with my immediate family, making sure all is in order…  And, while I still don’t think that’s bad, it’s not really practical, nor necessarily advisable, if I want to keep my friendships, and have visitors at the hospital when the baby does come.

So, blogging takes a hit.  I just have found it very difficult to prioritize keeping it up.  In addition, I have about nine comments in waiting for my approval and reply in the moderation queue from the guy who wants to continue to debate creation vs. evolution.  While I don’t have the inclination or obsessiveness to reply thoroughly to him, I also feel guilty, to some extent, for blogging about other things whilst he waits.  Dumb, perhaps, but true.

So…  in pregnancy news (sort of)… 

I have always thought that it was lame to work out to videos/DVDs in one’s home.  Lame to the extreme.  “Get out and run!” has been my response to the women who jump and jiggle in their own family rooms, alone in front of the TV, following a svelte and smiling leader.  I love love love to run.  However, it gets increasingly difficult for me get myself out of the house, by myself, for 30-45 minutes at a pop.  I’m not a morning person, but my husband is out of the house by 7:00 a.m., and if I want to run in the morning, that means I’d have to get up before 6:00, which is just not appealing to me at all.  Plus, that means if Audrey wakes up early, he’d have to tend to her while he’s trying to get ready for work, which he’d do, but not happily.  So, my other option is when he gets home from work.  But… we have dinner right after he arrives, about 6:30.  And, by the time dinner is done and Audrey is in bed, it’s 7:30, and that means it’s dark (or nearly so), and while we have a safe neighborhood, I get the willies running by myself in the dark.  And, our dog overheats easily, so she’s not a good running partner (the only drawback about her breed, IMO).  Then, I get home, hot, exhausted and sweaty and I still have dinner dishes to do, and a hubby to spend quality time with.

So.  With more than a little resignation, I had decided that if I was going to lose my ever-increasing belly fat, and not get winded walking up a short incline on our too-infrequent hikes, I was going to have to join the women who work out to a DVD.  Bummer.  I looked into a few different programs, decided on the one I wanted, decided that it was too expensive, found it on eBay for a reasonable price, got the go-ahead from my hubby to buy it… Then, I found out that I was pregnant.  I think that, in general, it’s fairly inadvisable to start an exercise regimen during pregnancy, but I reasoned with myself that it was early on…  By the time I ordered and received it, I was six weeks along…  I’m now only two weeks into the program, but, though feeling sore, am quite happy to be doing something about my spreading hindquarters than just rueing them.  🙂  I still find all the interminably perky hosts to be annoying and unrealistic, rather than inspiring, but I figure I’m exercising my character and attitude, as well as my body, as I make an effort not to glare at them, nor become discouraged by their perfectly toned, frequently… uh… supplemented bodies.

So, that’s another reason I haven’t been blogging, at least for the last two weeks.  My blog and e-mail time, which is generally the hour-and-a-half each afternoon, while my kids are in quiet time, has been taken up with 30-45 minutes of working out.

Also, Little League baseball has started, which should be another post in itself.  But, now we have 2 games a week, plus one to two practices a week…  another chomp out of my available time.

Excuses, excuses, right??

Please do forgive me, especially all you lovely (mostly) ladies whom I’ve enjoyed reading for the last nearly-two years, and who have faithfully read my own drivel.  It’s really a slight to you to say, “Well, I just don’t have the time to read what you’ve written.”  I feel horribly for that.

Historically, the hyper-nesting is intense in the first and last trimester, and eases a bit in the middle.  So, hopefully, in just a few weeks, I’ll emerge from my blogging coma and give you all the attention you deserve.

In the meantime, please forbear with my weaknesses, if you will, and I’ll do my best to catch up as soon as I can.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on March 14, 2008, in Baseball, Blogging, Family, Friendships, Motherhood, Pregnancy, Sports Stuff, The Dear Hubby, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Hi, I just found your blog through tagsurfer and I wanted to say congratulations! Best wishes for the coming months) and years!), Jennie

  2. Congratulations! I’m selfishly hoping you me, and Baby can still go hiking in may….

  3. Congrats. chick. Glad you’ll be over the worst of the morning sickness before Summer gets in full swing. But where you are, does that happen? (scratching head) Or is it always Summer?

    Take care and put up your feet lots.

    With love…

  4. Karen, the most important thing for you to do is take care of your family and yourself. I’m sure the rest of your blogging buddies will agree with me when I say we’ve missed you but we completely understand your absence!! 🙂 I hope things settle down and smooth out for you soon so that you can feel some normalcy and routine in your life again. 🙂 I’m so excited for you!!!

  5. You’re pregnant with number five and you’re worried about your running schedule!?!! That’s terrifying! No wonder Christianity just marched in and took over the Roman Empire – they never stood a chance 🙂

    Meanwhile, congratulations! There’s a little, insane part of me that wishes we could have five too. Hope it’s a restful, easy going sort of pregnancy with lots of foot-rubbing being received.

  6. At the risk of sounding redundant…congratulations! Children are such a blessing, even when the pregnancy is rough (just remind yourself of that when you’re hugging the commode!).

    Glad to read/see you’re back! Stay healthy!

    Joy

  7. Sounds like a blessing for you and your family. I pray all the best for you!!

  8. Well, congratulations! Looking forward to hearing the exciting news this fall 🙂 Hope you’re feeling better soon too!

  9. Congratulations!! We are a party of 7 too and it’s quite the ride! One more and we’re going to have to buy a new van LOL. We also homeschool and are following a GF diet for our 7 year old celiac. What joys!! Thanks for the great recipes and good luck with your pregnancy

  10. Whoo-hoo! Congratulations!

  11. Congratulations again!

    Eeh, it’s funny but when I was pregnant I was the opposite, it was really odd. I felt like I just *had* to go to work every day or be otherwise frantically active – and on one occasion left the class I was teaching about five times in order to throw up (plus I was trying to be all secretive about it because nobody knew I was pregnant, or so I thought!) I should have just stayed at home!! I worked right up to the Friday before my due date, had signs of labour that Friday at 5pm and Kiko was born on the Tuesday. When I look back I think: “What was going through my head?!” but it is true, pregnancy does something to you chemically. My frantic activity kept me sane (if you can call it that!) – it is best to go with the flow!

Leave a Reply

