Birthday and baseball

Sunday was Audrey’s 2nd birthday.  However, between church functions (and lunch out), we figured out that from the hours of 8 a.m. and 8:30 p.m., Martin would be home for a grand total of about one hour, and that hour being smack dab in the middle of Audrey’s nap.  So, we decided to celebrate her birthday on Monday, one day late.  Ethan had a Little League game, but it still all worked out great. 

Monday nights are when my mom and stepdad typically come over for dinner.  We alternate weeks for cooking responsibilities, and yesterday was my turn.  So, I prepared tacos in advance, packed the jalapenos, salsa and birthday cupcakes, and off we went.  Evenings have been lovely, so we planned on eating and celebrating after Ethan’s game.

Ethan had a fantastic game.  He pitched the final two innings (of five total played by his team), struck out many, and kept his team’s lead.  Afterwards, he said, “That’s the best I’ve ever felt in my LIFE.  Other than when I was born.”  😕  Which led to a discussion on whether or not he could actually remember his birth, but I guess that’s beside the point.  He felt great.

My camera is bad at a) action shots, and b) night-time shots.  Evening baseball games are both action and in the dark, so I never get any good pics of him.  Here’s one blurry one from last night:

Come dinner-and-partytime, Audrey wasn’t interested in tacos, because of the cupcakes.  Then, she wasn’t interested in cupcakes, because of the presents.

Here’s me trying to light the candles, and Audrey trying to blow them out simultaneously:

A little more than two years ago, when we found out we were having a girl, I had a bit of panic, because I’m not a girly-girl.  But, I always said that if my little girl really loves feminine, girly things, I wasn’t going to stop her.  Of course, she delights in sparkly, pink, dollies, Hello Kitty, and all things girly.  One of Ethan’s teammate’s 3yo little sister, Julia, almost always brings along one of her dollies to practices and games, and her dolly stroller, and Audrey always “babysits.”  Audrey has one doll, and it’s small, plus our dog chewed one ear off.  I decided it was time for Audrey to have her own bigger doll, and a dolly stroller of her own.  I shopped for a long time for a doll that wasn’t dorky, ill-dressed, or with some sort of insipid expression.  I also wanted a doll that talked, because Julia’s doll says, “Mama,” and each time, Audrey’s face lights up with a warm, maternal glow, and she agrees, “Audrey-Mama,” and tends to the doll with great care.  I had to settle on a well-dressed, talking doll with a slightly insipid expression.  Audrey was clearly delighted with my efforts on her behalf.

My best friend Shellie’s daughter, Claire, named her newest doll “Audrey,” so I thought it was only fitting that Audrey’s doll be named “Claire.”  I suggested it to her, and right away, her new doll became “Baby Claire.”

Here’s Audrey in all her birthday splendor:
 

It was a good evening.

 

 

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on April 8, 2008, in Baseball, Family, Motherhood, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I was so glad to see not 1, but 3 new posts by you. Welcome back to the land of the blog-living!

    That’s sweet about Audrey and Claire and their dolls. 🙂

    Re: baseball game photography: I have been struggling with the same thing lately, though it’s just for the practices, not real games.

    Your shutter is staying open longer to take in more light. What would be helpful is if you had a solid, stationery place to rest your camera while you’re depressing the shutter button. Ethan will still be blurred because of the motion, but objects around him will be more clear, and maybe even crystal clear, depending on the thing your camera is on and who happens to be leaning on it, kicking it or pounding on it. I’m thinking of a bleacher seat or the horizontal pole on the chain link fence.

    Anyway, it makes for an interesting effect.

    Congratulations on your pitching, Ethan! 🙂

    How are you feeling???

  2. What a neat post! Happy birthday to Audrey! She is so cute! I loved that age when my kids were there. 🙂

    I think the baseball pic has a cool effect! Even though it’s a little blurry it’s still a neat picture of him in the motion of pitching!

  3. Happy Birthday, Audrey!

  4. Mrs. N ~ Thanks for the tip!! I actually have a tripod somewhere… I’ll need to find it. Or, if it doesn’t turn up, I’ll definitely support the camera better, especially during nighttime shots. And… I feel like crap, but thanks for asking! I’ve lost 8 pounds on what is surely the worst diet ever. 🙂 But, the baby’s surely growing, and that gives me hope.

    MLBAH & Julie ~ Thanks!!!!!

  5. I love that last photo of Audrey … she looks like such a big girl!

Leave a Reply

