Holy moly! He won!!

I posted last week about my son Grant entering an essay contest, the winner of which would spend a half-inning in the TV broadcast booth of a Diamondbacks game.  The official rules said that they would notify the winner by the 14th.  As Monday evening came, we all realized sadly that Grant hadn’t won, and Grant set his sights on two months from now, which is the next contest he’d be able to enter. 

Yesterday, I had a couple of appointments and a couple of errands, and had left the kids with a babysitter.  On my way home, I received a very high-pitched, fast-talking phone call from Grant.  “I WON!!!!” he shouted into my ear.

It’s true.  They were running a bit behind, and didn’t notify Grant until yesterday.

Right after that, we were on our way to Ethan’s baseball game, and Grant called Martin (my husband) to tell him, and I heard him say, in semi-hushed tones, “I think Mom will be upset, but I want you to go with me.”  Shucks.  He explained to me, “I just think it would be better for a guy to go to a game with his Dad.”  Oh, well.

ETA:  But, FSN called again this morning, and the guy told me that we actually get four tickets (but only two press passes), so Ethan and I can go, too.  I already got a babysitter for Wes & Audrey.  😀  Also, we were surprised to learn that Grant will get a D’backs jersey.  AND, the Arizona Republic (the state’s largest paper) is sending a reporter and photographer who will trail Grant for the game, and do a big write up on it!  Cool!  Grant will get to go (with Martin) to the FSN production truck for a couple innings, to see how they coordinate the telecast, and then he’ll get to go up to the TV broadcast booth for the whole 7th inning, and be on air for the bottom of the 7th.  YAY!!  to all of that.

Now, I’m struck with a bit of anxiety over the realities of my son revealing his mouth on TV.  Countless times, people have come up to me and said, “You’ll never believe what Grant said.”  Usually, it’s something interesting, or intriguing, or surprising, in that it came from the mouth of an eight-year-old.  However, he is also prone to make absolutely preposterous statements — usually wild theories that he’s latched upon as the absolute truth.  He can also get extremely boastful.  I’ve been giving thought as how to gently caution and direct him, without squashing his extreme excitement….

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on April 16, 2008, in Arizona, Baseball, Contests, Parenting, Sports Stuff, The Dear Hubby, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. That’s so awesome!!!! How exciting for him and your family. I’m sure you’re so very proud! 🙂

  2. That’s awesome!

    And for what it’s worth, there’s not much point to being 8 years old unless you can get away with ridiculous statements. Here’s hoping he makes a strong impression!

  3. Hey, John! I was just thinking this morning, “I wonder if John’s the kind of guy who gets all of the Fox Sports Nets, instead of just his regional one.” I know that it is usually possible, with cable or dish, to do that, but it’s not a package we have… I was just wishing you could watch. 🙂

  4. It seems like everything ends up on YouTube – maybe it will be on there and you can post it. 🙂

  5. fantastic! What game is it? How can I catch his debut?

  6. Erin ~ If you have Cox cable, it’s channel 34. The game starts at 1:10 on Sunday (the 20th). If you have Dish Network, it’s channel 415, DirectTV is channel 649. It’s Fox Sports Net Arizona. It’s the Diamondbacks vs. the San Diego Padres.

  7. Very cool. I have to say I’m glad it’s not a Rockies game. I’d hate to hear him trashing my Rocks! (Even though the D-backs have done just that so far this season…)

  8. I don’t have cable or dish or nothing. Just electromagnetic waves.

  9. Steve-O ~ Yup, the D’backs have thus far shown that it was just a fluke that the Rockies won the 2007 NL West pennant. 😉

    John ~ Wow, I’m surprised. So, whaddya do with your time? (Just kidding.)

  10. I wrote an essay in the fourth grade on the subject of “What Makes Me Feel Good About Myself” (warm fuzzies and all) and I won a contest with the Portland Trailblazers. It was such a great memory!

    I won an autographed basketball (which my sister played with and ruined), a pair of Avia sneakers (which I outgrew), I was interviewed on the local TV news, I got free tickets to a Blazer game (in the nosebleed section at a game the Blazers lost), and I got to participate in the half-time ceremony. I also distinctly remember shaking Kiki Vandeway’s hand.

    But I have no pictures of any of it. So make sure you take a camera!!!!!

  11. Um, that would be ‘National League Champions’ to you!

Leave a Reply

