Bebe #5: the first pic

I had my first ultrasound of the baby yesterday.  I almost decided not to go, because I’m 13 weeks, and I’m going to have a “high level” u/s at 18 weeks.  But, I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to see him/her, especially when insurance was paying.

Things I learned:

  1. My baby is extremely active.  Those tiny flutters I’ve been feeling, that my OB said was probably not the baby, as it’s too early?  Definitely the baby.  Stretch, kick, jump, swing the arms, toss and turn…
  2. Due dates are very confusing.  I had figured, by the calendar, of an EDD of October 22.  My OB said October 24.  Initially, the u/s tech agreed with my EDD of October 22, but then, after all the measurements were made, said October 11.  My hubby said, “You bake ’em ’til they’re ready.”  He’s right.  (I’ve had everything from 11 days early to 8 days late.)  The tech, a very nice lady named Bonnie, said that in the last trimester, there’s a lot of variance for size, due to genetics and general chubbiness of the baby, but in the first trimester, there’s only a very small window of variance, and virtually all babies develop at exactly the same pace, early on.  It was Bonnie’s firm conviction that I conceived before I think I did, which, in the cycle of things, makes little sense.  However, she was certain that my OB would alter the EDD based on the findings of the u/s.
  3. What my baby looks like:

Thing I did not learn:

  1. Whether the baby is a boy or a girl.  They told me in advance that they wouldn’t even check because I’m not 14 weeks.  However, I thought, after I left, since they had placed me at 14w5d, I probably should have asked.
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on April 18, 2008, in Introspective Musings. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Already a cutie, Karen! Congrats! 😀

  2. That’s awesome! My sister is pregnant as well and she sent me some ultrasound pictures yesterday. Hers were the new 3D pictures – which are AMAZING! She was far enough along to see what she’s having. She sent me that picture too – it was pretty hilarious! 😆 Congratulations on doing so well so far!!!

  3. Wah! So lovely! Isn’t it amazing how perfect they look so early on? Kiko was a real jumper too. I am convinced I felt him move at 7 weeks, and he was kicking strongly at 14 weeks, which was all good because he was a big strong boy and that served him well when he was born.

Leave a Reply

