Cancer, Experience, Faith & Prayer

My Uncle Jim and Aunt Susie are almost done building their dream house, on the back section of my Grandma Visel’s farm, tucked in a corner bordered by tall trees and a creek.

Susie went into the doctor, I think it was on Monday this week, because she was having some trouble breathing.  As you may read below, it turned out to be a very aggressive form of lung cancer, and it has already metastisized to her brain.  Hope, from a practical sense, seems dim. 

However, as my Uncle Peter lovingly and powerfully writes, God is not always practical, and Peter is encouraging the family to pray with hope, expectation, and faith.

Peter relates a story that, when I read it, I couldn’t help but think, “That’s just like God.”  A miraculous event recently took place in the life of someone Peter knows, someone of whom the doctors were saying, “It’s time to pull the plug.”  Yet with prayer, that woman survived with no ill effects and is, today, living a normal life.  So, God is using that experience in Peter’s life to increase his own faith in God’s power, and to encourage the rest of my extended family to pray with faith in God’s supernatural abilities.

Peter’s message is as follows:

I spoke with brother Jim earlier this afternoon. Below is an update
and several requests that he asked that I pass along to the family. I
apologize if it is a bit blunt.

He is currently en-route with with his bride, Suzie, to the VA
hospital in Indianapolis. The initial biopsy was done on the sizable
tumor found on one of Suzie’s lungs. Apparently they also removed
quite a bit of fluid from her lungs. Although they did not get the
complete results on the biopsy of the tumor, several things were
confirmed. She has lung cancer and it is an aggressive form. Plus,
it has already metastasized to her brain. The attending physician
highly recommended that she be immediately transferred to a
specialized VA center in Indianapolis to begin immediate chemo therapy
treatment and/or surgery as necessary.

I know you may say, “V.A.?” That’s where they started. Jim said that
he and Suzie were overwhelmed by the extreme high quality of care and
concern afforded them thus far by the V.A. hospital. You all know
Suzie spent most of her life as a nurse and eventually retired from
the profession after being fed up with the (lack of) quality of
service and care at her former place of employment. Jim says she was
quite impressed with the way they have treated her thus far.
Everybody has been outstanding all along the way.

Jim asked for the following two requests:
1. Prayer for Suzie and him. They can use all the prayer they can
get, and we all can use the practice. He has asked to be added to all
your prayer “chains” with a specific prayer request. Pray for what a
doctor would call, “spontaneous remission.” God still does it today.
We are expecting God to work a miracle in their lives. You have not,
because you ask not.

Jim says that all their struggles are past. They are living by faith
that Jesus Christ already paid the price and now it is up to them to
accept what He has for them.

2. Jim has requested that you praise God for what He has already
done. You are all aware that Jim has been quite a man of God. He is
now living his faith. The prophet Isaiah said that, “Surely we took up
our infirmities and carried our sorrows, yet we considered him
stricken by God, smitten by him, and afflicted. But he was pierced
for our transgressions, he was crushed for our iniquities; the
punishment that brought us peace was upon him, and by his wounds, we
are healed.” Jim reminded me that this was written in the PAST
tense. It’s already been done! So by His wounds, they are expecting
nothing less than a complete healing for Suzie. Jim says he’s already
been “through the valley of the shadow of death”. He used to have
different ending for that psalm. Now, he knows, as the psalm
continued, “I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and
your staff, they comfort me.”

Jim said he would keep me appraised of what is going on and I can pass
it on to the family.

I am believing fully in what God can do – when you ask of Him. It
was only three months ago that one of my compatriots, Al, told me
that his daughter had just been hospitalized after a minor procedure.
Within several hours following the operation, her brain had shut down
completely. He had just returned from meeting with his grandson, to
whom the attending physician had told him that it was time to discuss
“pulling the plug” as they could not understand what, nor how that had
happened. I asked my friend if he believed that God could heal her.
He said he had never given it any thought, he didn’t believe it was
possible. Several of us prayed for them. Several days later Al
received word from the attending physician that there had been a
“spontaneous remission” and they were ready to release her from the
hospital. They could not understand how this could have happened. She
walked home. Today she is living as normal of a life as before.

Please join us in asking God to grant Jim’s request. If you don’t
know how to pray, there has never been a better time than to learn,
just ask.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on April 18, 2008, in Introspective Musings. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m so sorry your family is going through such struggles, Karen. I will be keeping your family in my prayers.

  2. Oh, Karen! That brings tears to my eyes! I’m so sorry that she and the rest of your family are going through this. I pray most definitely that God will grant the request for spontaneous remission!!! Keep us posted.

Leave a Reply

