Woo-hoo! A hiking trip!

Willow ValleyI’m very happy that my friend Erin and I have settled on a weekend in May for an overnight hike.  The location isn’t quite decided, but we have some good ideas. 

I am SO excited about the trip.  I love to hike, but my hubby doesn’t.  My kids simply tolerate hiking, except Grant, who adores hiking, too.  And, hiking by one’s self isn’t really safe.  So, going with a friend is a fantastic plan, IMO.  Plus, I really don’t get many opportunities to spend time one-on-one with a girlfriend, so I’m really looking forward to conversation and hanging out with Erin. 

I’ve actually never been on an overnight hike;  just day hikes.  I have a TON of camping equipment, but it’s all for “car camping,” not hike-in camping, which means it’s all heavy.  This means I’m either going to spend a ton of money, or borrow a bunch of Erin’s stuff (she’s a frequent overnight hiker).  Actually, my plan is to borrow quite a bit, and keep my equipment expenses under $200.  Rather like when we started camping as a family, we borrowed a bunch of stuff from my parents, then every trip we made, we purchased more of our own, and borrowed less.  And, now that we have everything a family of six needs to camp, we haven’t been camping in two years.  But, that’s another story. 

We want our hike to incorporate water, and the place I have in mind has several big stream crossings, so I’ll need to get some different shoes.  I usually just hike in my tennies.  I’m looking forward to getting some new shoes, like this or this or this.  I’ll need to get some pants, too.  Nylon ones, so they’ll dry quickly.  But, I’ll also be 4+ months pregnant, and will need some elastic in the waist.  I really don’t like the idea of spending $40+ on hiking pants, but I might get something like this.  Well, here’s some on sale for $18, but I don’t like the look of them.  We’ll see. 

To make things easier on my hubby, I have one son shipped out for the weekend, and will likely get my oldest son “placed”, too.  I have to get a babysitter for the Friday we’ll be gone, too, but we do have some wonderfully responsible and reliable babysitters, so that shouldn’t be a problem.

I’ll pack my camera (in a waterproof bag) and some extra batteries, and hopefully, do a nice blog writeup of it when we finally go.  🙂

 

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on April 29, 2008, in Arizona, Hiking, Shoes, Shopping, Travelling. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. keep your eye on Steep and Cheap (they ship fast)
    (http://www.steepandcheap.com)

  2. Don’t count on waterproof baggies for cameras and stuff. I use a “Lock & Lock”. And a zip lock. Enjoy!

  3. I need shoes and pants too! Try the REI outlet online for the pants, I’m checking it out now…

  1. Pingback: Random Bits for the Week « Only Sometimes Clever

Leave a Reply

