Random Bits for the Week

I guess I don’t have much original thought this week;  this is my first post, and it’s already Wednesday.  It’s not that I don’t have a lot going on… 

  • In my continuing Spring of Jane Austen, I finished Persuasion.  It is my favorite, so far, of her works I’ve read.  Perhaps it’s because the heroine isn’t just 20 and angsting.  She’s 28 and angsting.  😉  But, it just seemed the most full, the most realistic, and the most lovely read, and certainly the best climax of her works.  I really like that the end doesn’t have Anne saying, “Woe is me, I’ve been so ill-treated by the years I’ve lost” but that she’s able to see that the decisions that were made in her youth that affected her adulthood served a purpose.  There’s no sense of martyrdom.  That’s more of a… mature view of things, and one that I strive for, myself.  …  So far, I’ve read Northanger Abbey, Emma, Pride and Prejudice, and now, Persuasion.  After reading a few reviews on Amazon.com, I put a DVD on hold at the library.  There have been at least 3 adaptations of the story, but according to what I read, the 1995 version with Amanda Root as lead holds closest to Austen’s story.  Now that I only have Sense and Sensibility and Mansfield Park left, I’m almost starting to mourn the end of my Austen days.  They’ve been pleasant.  I think I’m going to start the Bronte sisters next, although their plots seem mighty contrived to me — though that’s just my impression from watching BBC versions of the stories;  I’ve never read any of their works before.
  • In hiking notes, our friend Jenny is going to join Erin and I on our hike.  This makes me very happy, and puts our husbands a bit more at ease.  I found some nice shoes (thanks to what was probably excessive web-searching) and pants (thanks to a tip from Erin), spending about $70 total, including shipping.  That still seems pricey to my penny-pinching ways, but for what I’m getting, they’re a good deal.
  • It’s been almost a week, but an article I read in the Arizona Republic has really stuck with me…  It’s about a work program that has disabled men working at a golf course, to the benefit of both the men, and the golf course and its employees.  I think, being almost 35 and pregnant, with the threat of increased likelihood of genetic problems with the baby I’m carrying due to my age, such things have been on my mind for the last six months or so.  It’s a good read;  please check it out.
  • In pregnancy news, I don’t have much.  I have a doctor appt tomorrow, a monthly check-up.  I have gained back two of the eight pounds I lost earlier in the pregnancy…  I’m starting to think/hope that perhaps I won’t gain my standard 40-50 pregnancy pounds this time, though.  I was, however, slightly encouraged that another friend of mine, who is also pregnant, and is rather intimidating to me with her stylish beauty (and her daughter who, while younger than Audrey, is better-dressed than me), gained about 70 lbs with her last pregnancy, then lost it.  Lost it through hard work, but still, lost it.  I really would rather not continue to keep 5-ish pounds from each child I bear, and it’s always good to receive hope from someone who says, “I lost my weight, and so can you.”      
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on May 7, 2008, in Books I'm Reading, Hiking, Pregnancy, Sports Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’ve gained AT LEAST 50 pounds each time I’ve been pregnant. With a few it was more like 70! And I’ve always lost it. My non-pregnancy size is 4. My maternity clothes are XL. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

