Shifting Due Dates

So.  I had an appointment yesterday with my OB.  Much to my surprise, he moved up my due date, to October 11 from October 24.  Looking at the calendar, and knowing how many days gestation takes, I know that I couldn’t have conceived on that particular date.  However, the ultrasound I had a few weeks ago showed that I was farther along than I had previously supposed.  Hm.  Ultrasounds in the first trimester show less variance in baby-size and development than do ultrasounds from babies that are further along, and for the date I had mine, there’s a variance of only have a +/- 7 days.  So, any date that shows up according to the u/s, if it’s greater than 7 days difference from the original EDD, becomes the new EDD. 

This is my fifth baby, and I’ve never had that happen before.

I’m not worried about potentially delivering two weeks earlier than expected;  it’s just that it seems to send the whole thing into limbo.

My husband was skeptical.  He said, “In other words, the baby will still come when the baby is ready.  Watch.  You’ll deliver on October 20 and they’ll say, ‘Oh, you’re 9 days late!’ but according to the original date, you’ll be four days early.  Who’s to say?  The baby comes when the baby is ready.”

Well, yes.  And I have had babies anywhere from 11 days “early” to 9 days “late,” and I do know that they’re born when the time is right.

Still, it’s nice to have a semi-solid date to look forward to, and now I don’t feel like I have that.

AND, since I’m anti-inducement, I do have some anxiety about resisting pressure to induce if, say, October 24 rolls around, and I still haven’t delivered.

Due to my “advanced maternal age” 😆 I do get the high-level ultrasound in a couple of weeks (the 3D/4D one!) and my doc said that we’ll see if the new u/s confirms the date from the first u/s.  So, maybe all my anxiety is for nothing…

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on May 9, 2008, in Birth, Pregnancy, The Dear Hubby. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Those ultrasounds are soooo not accurate. I wouldn’t lose any sleep over it.

    I like your husband’s attitude. How great to have that support!

  2. Ah, Daja, I knew you would have some peaceful answer. 🙂 And, my hubby IS very supportive of my pregnancies and births. He is actually at the peak of encouraging support during birthing. Makes me smile just thinking about it.

  3. Yeah, our consultant second time around basically said that baby could arrive any time plus or minus two weeks (as it happens, they firmly set a scheduled C-section a week before the official due date).

  4. My due dates got moved around two or three times based on ultrasounds, so I’m with Daja 🙂

    With a supportive husband like yours, I think you’ll do just fabulous — so you better get that sleep while you can 😉

  5. I never got “solid” due dates even with my fertility engineered babies. By the time little critter rolled around… I was a firmly scheduled c-section one week prior to my “due” date. IMO they could have gone a couple weeks earlier and she would have been full term. 🙂 My kiddos don’t like to move out… each one does their thing. It’s awesome that your hubby is so relaxed about it all!

    Kudos to you both! The Multi-Dimensional ultrasounds are great! Yay.

Leave a Reply

