Kinda cute, kinda gross

I’m amazed at how my just-turned-2yo daughter seems to grasp the idea that there’s a baby in my tummy, which will eventually come out.  It’s just the coming out part that confuses her.

Last night, getting her ready for bed, I was sitting on the edge of the tub, when she asked to see the “baby.”  She talked to the baby, letting her/him know that she would “play you” and “hold you.”  Then, after kissing my tummy, she looked up at me. 

“Clip it?”

I repeated her, a little incredulously, “Clip it??”

She nodded, “Yes.  Clip it.  Clip it open.”

“My tummy, you mean?  You want me to clip it open so you can see the baby??”

She nodded emphatically, “Yes.  Yes.  Yes.  Yes.  Clip it open.  Hold you baby.”

Hm.  Her eagerness to see the baby is dear, but I assured her that the baby would be staying in my tummy for a long time, until the baby had grown some more.  Anyways, I’m trying to avoid, as always, the clip-to-open route.  😀 

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on June 2, 2008, in Pregnancy, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. That *is* cute. Having tried it and found it effective, regardless I’m not a huge fan of the clipping option, either. But you have to appreciate the wish for a sneak peek…

Leave a Reply

