Finally… a scheduled ultrasound, further thoughts on abortion, and a wee story of me being healed from NON-sexually-transmitted HPV

Well.  I’m still a little twerked at my OB’s office.  He’s great;  his nurse is great;  his staff appears to be incompetent.

First, I thought they were supposed to schedule my ultrasound, because it’s a “special” one, a multi-dimensional one, “necessary” because of my “advanced maternal age.”  🙂  So, I waited.  A couple of weeks went by, with no notice from the doc’s office, so, I thought that maybe I was supposed to call in, and had missed it… and a wee bit of guilt set in, because I was also supposed to go get a blood test and I’d never done it, and, as I confessed to my friend Erin, I so hate disapproval — even mild disapproval — from authorities, and I didn’t want to hear, “Oh, you should have done that” and I avoided calling.  But, I finally called them Tuesday last week. 

The lady I spoke with said, “Oh, no, you’re not supposed to schedule that yourself.  So-and-so was supposed to schedule it and call you.  I’ll talk with her, and one of us will get back with you.”  No one called the rest of the week.  So, I called again yesterday, and the lady I spoke with said, “Oh, no, you’re supposed to schedule all your own ultrasounds.  But, didn’t so-and-so call you?  I talked with her, and I thought she knew to call you.  And, now she’s on vacation.”  Whatever.  I got the phone number of the place I am supposed to go, and called them.  I spoke with a very helpful woman who said, “Do you have the order from your doctor?”  I got flustered, and tried to explain, as quickly as I could, why I had no such thing.  She took all my info, and scheduled me on June 16th, two weeks from yesterday.  So, that’s done.

I had been told that I was supposed to get the u/s in my 20th week.  I’m now in my 21st, so that would put the u/s in the 23rd.  However, when I talked to the lady at the u/s place, she confirmed my suspicions:  The “need” to have the u/s before the 21st week is because if we’re considering “doing something” about the pregnancy, if something abnormal shows up, there’s “still time.”  Golly, that’s sad.  I told her that, absolutely, no matter what the u/s showed, there was no way we were going to abort.  She said, “Well, then, it’s actually better to wait longer.  The longer you wait, the more the baby is formed, and the better information we can get from the u/s.”

My former OB (who, sadly, retired) always waited to order up an u/s until I was 27-28 weeks.  He said that at that point, all the parts are there — nothing new grows from that point onward;  it’s all just weight gain, and further development of what’s already there.  He was also anti-abortion.

Well, at least he never jumped to the idea of abortion.  He never scheduled things around the possible “need” for an abortion, and he told me once that he’d never performed any, and never would.  He did mention, once, the possiblity of me going somewhere else for an abortion, which is rather off-topic, but I think I’ll share.  It’s a good story. 

I was newly pregnant with Grant, who is now nearly 9 years old, and as I was due for a pap smear, he did one.  The results came back abnormal, so he did a biopsy.  More bad news:  I had extensive lesions with precancerous cell growth on my cervix. 

I’d had that before, actually.  I knew it was from a particularly unfriendly strain of HPV, which is almost always transmitted sexually.  However, it first showed up on me when I was still a virgin, before I got married.  So, who knows how I contracted it.  The HPV didn’t care that I was an innocent victim;  it wreaked havoc on my cervix.  I had to get pap smears every three months since I’d gotten married, which very often showed up abnormal, which led to biopsies.  If the biopsy came back with further bad news, I’d have to get cryosurgery — an inhouse procedure where the lesions would get frozen to kill off the precancerous cell growth.  By the time I was pregnant with Grant, only about 3 1/2 years since the HPV was first discovered, I’d already had two cryosurgeries.  So, here it was, showing up again, and I was pregnant.  

My doctor told me that he would continue to do a monthly visual check, and biopsies every other month.  “But,” he warned, “if it continues to grow, or if the cells change from pre-cancerous to fully cancerous, you’ll have to end the pregnancy, so we can treat it.”  That hit me like a sock to the gut.  Logically, it didn’t seem to make sense, either.  The reason that he couldn’t treat it while I was pregnant was due to risk to the baby.  So, in order to treat it, they’d just kill the baby??? 

I think my first call, after my husband, was to my pastor’s wife.  She immediately arranged for me to receive “soaking prayer,” which is regular, ministry-type prayer, just me and a devoted team.  As I recall, we met every other week.  On schedule, I’d meet at the church with her and three others and they would lay hands on me and pray for me for a good hour at a time.  It worked.  I think we continued for six months, but the pre-cancerous growth disappeared after only a month or two.  My doctor was shocked, and said something about it being highly surprising.  He muttered something like, “Well, all sorts of amazing things happen when a woman is pregnant.  All that new life being created…  who knows what can happen?”  I told him that I’d been receiving prayer, and he did agree that he’d heard of many instances when prayer worked.  🙂  He said, “You know, as doctors, we avoid using the word ‘miracle,’ but since it disappeared when you were receiving prayer, maybe you should call it a miracle.” 

That was nine years ago, and it has never been back.  I’ve since never even had an abnormal pap.

So…  God is good.  Prayer is good.  Babies are good.  Life is good.  I’m so eager to see the new baby, and am so looking forward to him or her joining our family.  I just wish my doc’s office staff had their act together a little bit better.     

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on June 3, 2008, in Birth, Christian Living, Christianity, Encouragement, Family, God/Christianity/Church, Medical Stuff, Memories, Motherhood, Pregnancy, Scary stuff, The Kids, Vineyard Phoenix. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. That’s awesome. God is SO good.

  2. Wow! What a testimony to God’s healing powers, Karen! Thanks so much for sharing that. I’m glad you were finally able to get the ultrasound scheduled. 😉

  3. Wow!!! God is awesome!!!

    Praising God for His hand in your life!

    — Esther

  4. You will never know how great of an edification this story is for me…God bless you and your beautiful family:)

Leave a Reply

