Gluten-free treat recommendation!!

I was a little startled when someone on the e-mail loop noted that rice malt can contain barley, which is not gluten-free.  I looked it up via Google, and saw that, yes, very often, barley is combined with rice to make rice malt, though it can be made from 100% rice.

I was particularly concerned because one of my new favorite treats are Trio bars from Mrs. May’s, which I buy from Costco.  They’re reasonable:  about $16 for a box of 20, and are packaged with a “gluten-free” labelling.

So, I sent an e-mail enquiry to Mrs. May’s, yesterday. 

I have celiac disease, as do two of my four kids. I have purchased Trio
bars from Costco, and really enjoy them (especially strawberry and
blueberry). I haven’t had any noticeable gluten reactions from them.
However, someone recently pointed out to me that rice malt is often made
with combined rice and sprouted barley. Barley contains gluten, and it is
my goal to completely avoid even trace amounts of gluten, whenever it is
knowingly possible. I know you are associated with CSA, which I applaud,
and it lends to my trust in you as a company. However, I want to make
absolutely certain that your rice malt is NOT made with barley. Thank you! 

I heard back from their customer service department today!

Thank you for your inquiry. As per your concern about the rice malt
containing barley, we are happy to advise you that our rice malt contains no
barley what so ever. Our rice malt is produced in our own factory and
therefore we are 100% certain that no barley is in our rice malt. We hope
we have assisted you correctly. If you have any other questions, comments,
or concerns feel free to contact us at any time.



About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on June 4, 2008, in Celiac Disease, Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, Dairy-free, gluten-free. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I saw that message this morning too on the Phoenix list, and hoped an answer would come too. Usually Mrs. May’s stuff is GF, so I figured it would be, but it’s nice to have the confirmation.

    Now I have to go cruise the rest of your blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: