Misc. news for the week

  • Well, we had our ultrasound, and the baby is a girl!!!  We were excited about seeing a 3D u/s, to get a good look at her face, but she kept a forearm across the bottom portion of her face the whole time, so we didn’t get a clear peek.  Oh, well.  It’s funny:  though I was hoping for a girl, now that I know she is, I’m just a tad nervous.  It’s rather like when I was pregnant with my 2nd child;  I couldn’t fathom what he’d be like, or how he’d fit in with our family, or if I’d love him as much as I did my oldest.  But, then he came, and all my fears were put to rest;  he was an absolute perfect, designed fit for our family.  So, now I just have to remind myself of that with baby girl #2, that God knows what He has planned for us, and this girl is just right for all of us, and we’re right for her.
  • Last night was so pleasant, here at our home.  We pretty much did nothing but hang out.  It seems like we’ve just been consistently busy…  Saturday night, we had the whole worship team over.  Sunday, we spent at Martin’s dad’s.  Monday, my mom & stepdad were over.  Tuesday, I went to a women’s Bible study.  Tonight, I’ll be going grocery shopping.  All good things, definitely.  Relationship, family, growth as a Christian, providing for my family, all important.  But, just watching the baseball game and playing Jenga, with our tummies full from a good dinner… it just felt refreshing.
  • This has been our first week off of school for the summer.  Whew!  I was ready for summer “break.”  It’s not really a break, because while homeschooling three kids and taking care of a todder, things pile up over the school year, so summer becomes the time for special projects.  And, lots of cleaning.  I like the house to be clean, and I really don’t mind the work, but while we school, it’s just nigh impossible to fit in all the housework that really needs to be done.  So, it’s nice to go to bed at night, knowing all the dishes are done, the laundry is caught up, there’s not 1/2″ of dust on all the furniture, and the floor’s been recently mopped.  The only thing bad about this week is that it’s been insanely hot, 110*+ each day this week, so it’s just too hot for the boys to play outside.  They can go out upon waking for about half an hour, and sometimes, by 5 or 6 p.m., they’re so stir-crazy, they’ll brave the heat (still over 100* even at those hours) to go in the backyard and play.  But, it’s just too darn hot to play, midday.  The day before yesterday, I was changing the lightbulbs in our coachlights, to the right and left of our garage.  It was 8:30 a.m., and I had to use hot pads.  Hot pads to handle the metal housing of the lights.  And, they’re not even black.  It’s just really, really hot.    
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on June 19, 2008, in Arizona, Baseball, Family, Homeschooling, Housework, Pregnancy, Random Stuff, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Of course I feel your pain 🙂 The kids take swim lessons and I am in water aerobics 4 times a week. I don’t even want to take my swim suit off so I can keep cool the rest of the day.

  2. Yeah, a girl for Audrey to play with among them boys!
    Hmm, very hot weather….the joys of AZ. Pool time!!!
    Blessings, Lisa A

  3. Wah, that is lovely! Two girls and three boys, that is a lovely combination.

  4. Debbie/RWM ~ Yes, our mild spring/early summer is evaporating with a vengeance. You know it’s been HOT HOT HOT when, last night, on the news, they mentioned a “slight cooldown” coming later this week down to 108*. Ugh. I think it’s been 9 days straight now with 110* days! Ack.

    Thank you, Lisa and Helen, for your sweet words. I did especially want a “sister baby” for Audrey… It just seems right. 🙂

Leave a Reply

