Yet another reason to love the Asian grocery

Last night, I did one of my marathon grocery shopping runs, leaving the house a bit after 8:00 p.m., hitting up three stores, and returning home after 11:30 p.m.  Ugh.  But, grocery shopping, exhausted and alone is better than grocery shopping in 112* heat in mid-day with four kids.  Have ice cooler, will travel.

Anyways.  My first stop was the Asian grocery store.  I just needed a few things — tapioca starch, potato starch, baby bok choy.  But, on my way to the checkout, I glanced over a smallish free-standing arrangement of shelves that had candy.  Most of the candy, of course, had Chinese or Korean writing on it.  But then, my gaze fell over a Galaxy bar.  I gasped.  Literally.  Out loud.  “No way!”

 

I don’t even like milk chocolate, but I absolutely adore Galaxy bars.  I’ve never seen them outside the U.K., though.  Then, I thought, “Well, bummer.  It’ll probably be labelled as Galaxy, but the labelling and ingredients will be all wrong, rather like Cadbury bars in the U.S. are nothing like Cadbury bars in the U.K.”  But, no.  It was labelled for a British market!  Woo hoo!!  It was a whopping $1.39 for a 45g bar, but I gladly plunked down my money, and savored every melty piece.

(Wikipedia says that Dove and Galaxy are the same.  Hm.  Maybe I’ll have to buy some Dove chocolate.  I’ll bet it’s not the same, though.)

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on June 20, 2008, in Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, Random Stuff, Shopping. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Don’t tell Homeland Security. They’ll probably impound it.

  2. Oh I am so jealous!!! The chocolate was so much tastier in the U.K. Dove is my favorite American bar. 🙂

    Did you ever try Minstrels? http://www.englishteastore.com/magami1.html?productid=magami1&channelid=FROOG
    They were like giant m & m’s. Only really delicious. They were one of my favorites.

  3. Michael ~ Hehe. Actually, I thought of something along those lines: “I wonder if it’s even legal to sell food with non-standard labelling?” 🙂

    Prairie Lady ~ I’ve never tried Minstrels! I will, based on your recommendation… It’ll probably be a long while before I get back to the U.K., so maybe I can ask someone to bring me some… 🙂

Leave a Reply

