Four kids and a pregnant mom at the city pool…

Today, as well as being now-11yo Ethan’s birthday, was our first day of swimming lessons for the summer.  We take them through our city;  it’s 9 consecutive weekdays, 1/2 hr lessons, for $18 per kid, with most classes limited to six kids or so. 

I decided to go ahead and enroll Audrey in the parent-and-tot class, so we wouldn’t roast on the bleachers while waiting for the guys — especially since the earliest time-slot that had all three levels that my boys are in was 11:00.  By that time, it’s over 100*, and I just couldn’t bear to be miserably hot for that long.  Last year, I was able to get them in the 8:00 time slot, and it was hot then.  So, I decided that Audrey and I needed to be in the water, too.  But, I didn’t even own a regular bathing suit, let alone a maternity one!  So, it was shopping I went on Saturday.

You think its hellish shopping for a bathing suit?  Try doing so when you’re almost 6 months pregnant!!  Ugh.  Not fun.  At all.  After trying on eight, and nearly crying, I opted for this one, which doesn’t look nearly as fetching on me as it does on the model.  I actually liked the one-piece version of the same suit a bit more, but all they had was a medium, which fit me “just right” right now, meaning that it will no longer fit in about one week.  So, I thought it would be wiser to size up to the large.  ~sigh~  I also got some black board shorts to go underneath, largely because I am FREAKED OUT over an explosion of vericose veins, spider veins, and assorted lumpy vascular ugliness on the back of ONE of my legs.  One.  My right leg.  Now, I do agree with my hubby, that one is better than two.  But, I think it’s highly odd that it’s just one leg.  It wasn’t there before I got pregnant, either.  And it’s painful.  I’m considering going to the doctor about it, but I may wait until after I deliver the baby, to see if it’ll all go away when there’s not so much extra blood pumping through my body. 

Which brings me to an only tangentially-related bit:  After 23 weeks of gaining virtually no weight, last week I gained five pounds.  In one week.  Ack.

Anyways, I shouldn’t have worried;  even being large and pregnant, I’m not the largest woman in the parent-and-tot class, so it’s not like everyone is staring at the huge pregnant woman.  Also, folks, that “tankini” top?  It floats around.  “Balloons” might be a better word, actually.  Ugh.  At least my giant belly with its vast array of stretch marks is obscured by the water.

Which brings me to another tangentially-related bit:  I read, before I got pregnant, that not only is pure Vitamin E oil good for reducing the body’s tendency to produce stretch marks, it will actually heal them (and other scars).  That’s what I read, anyways.  I only put it on 2-3x/week;  maybe that’s why it’s not working.  But, I haven’t given up hope.  Still, it’s not the easiest to use:  It’s thick and sticky, and doesn’t soak/rub in well.  I pour a handful and try to put it on pretty much all of my body from mid-thigh to above my bellybutton (yes, that entire area is covered in stretch marks), and then add some regular lotion afterwards.  And, you have to be careful what clothing you put on afterwards, because it’s likely that it’s going to get oil-stained.  Still, when one has as many stretch marks as I do, one goes to certain lengths…

Anyways.

Ethan was bummed out and nervous, because though he graduated from Level III last summer, he didn’t think he had the skills for Level IV, and that he’d be left holding onto the poolside whilst everyone was dashing away down their lanes doing perfect butterfly strokes, or something like that.  Turned out (like I was encouraging him) that that wasn’t the case;  he isn’t even the slowest swimmer in his class, even though it is challenging.

And, it looks like both Wes and Grant will be able to (finally) advance this year.  Grant has been stuck in Level II for a couple of years, mostly because of large-motor difficulties, which makes it nigh impossible for him to do alternating “big arm” strokes, like for freestyle, and impossible for him to tread water.  However, he reported today that he was able to do both!!  Hurray!

Wes has been stuck at Level I for a couple of years, mostly because he didn’t want to submerge his head, and because he has virtually no value for actually following the teacher’s instructions.  However, when I looked over at him, early in the lessons, his entire head was wet.  And, he reported to me that he did, in fact, follow all of the directions given to him.  Hurray!!

Audrey spent the first 15 minutes screaming in that high-pitched, piercing tone that only a 2yo girl can produce, and clinging to my neck with her arms and my torso with her legs, in a death grip.  (Strangely, this made me a bit happy, because she is SO not cuddly, and has NEVER been clingy.  So, it’s nice to know that when she does feel danger, The Mom is a safe place to cling.)  Then, she immediately switched gears, and decided that swimming lessons were fantastic!  In fact, after the lessons were over, I had to keep a firm grip on her wrist, so she wouldn’t go running back to the pool.  “Swimming lessons fun!  ‘Happy an’ a know it, ‘plash a wattuh!  ‘plash!  ‘plash!’  My try swimming lessons, OK, Mom?”  This, after 15 minutes of tears and wailing, “Not want to!  Get out now!!”

So, all in all, it was a good day at the pool.   

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on June 23, 2008, in Arizona, Clothes, Life in the Desert, Motherhood, Pregnancy, Shopping, Sports Stuff, Summer Plans, The Kids, Weather. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

