The more the messier

I’ve been in the blogosphere for only about 2 and a half years, and I’m still continuously surprised at what a dearth of Really Good Blogs there are out there.  I was just thinking, a couple of days ago, how I simply cannot read most blogs by/for women, because they just seem… ummm… unrealistic.  You know, the chipper, cheery, pink & sparkly kind, full of perfect advice from perfect women who have absolutely fabulous kids, ideal relationships with God, marital bliss, are more stylish than I ever could hope (or care) to be, and who have tastefully creative, spotless homes, as well as an organic garden out back.  And whose dogs have better pedicures than my own.  Those kind of blogs don’t tend to inspire me.  At all.  It’s all I can do to not be repulsed.  So, I just don’t read ’em. 

Not that I’m looking for abject failures with whom to wallow;  I’m just looking for a little reality injected into the perfection.  Know what I mean?

Enter:  The More the Messier.  From a recent post about books:

But I’ve read almost nothing but non-fiction since the minute Theo was born. Childrearing, it seems, leaves me no patience for the willing suspension of disbelief. At first, I devoured all the parenting books I could get my hands on, because – believe it or not – until the baby was actually born, I did not understand that I was going to be raising a child. I was therefore woefully unprepared for my new situation.

[I know, one could argue that the parenting literature belongs in the fiction category, for all the good it does the hapless reader. But let’s not go there right now.]

Once I finished every single parenting tome ever published, I moved on to other how-to’s and self-help books: the marriage ones (which should all be subtitled “How To Manipulate Your Spouse Into Doing What You Want”), the home organization ones (didn’t take), the homeschooling ones (“Teach Your Child Latin While You Do Dishes!” and other lies)….the list is endless.

By the time I got to the “Latin” bit, I was rolling.

Written by a homeschooling mom of six who is funnier than I’ll ever be, The More the Messier is worth a read.

 

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on June 26, 2008, in Blogging, Interesting Websites. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the shout out. It’s always great to hear that I made someone laugh. And I love meeting other homeschoolers in the blogosphere.

  2. I completely agree, reading someone who has it all together is really annoying to those of us who really do, just kidding. It sets an unrealistic picture and doesn’t tell me about their heart. It’s just unattainable, maybe they are geared to the grandparents, etc. But I’ll read a good blog about someone’s heart and real life struggles with hanky in hand any day

  3. Ugh! MY chipper, young pastor’s wife is a perfect example of a portrayal of the perfect life, love my inlaws, the huge family gets along, go on vacation together, blah, blah, picture perfect birthdays. I have come to the conclusion, reading blogs, that people stop blogging when life gets rough, like when you have not heard from them in a while. Putting your best foot forward….I too like it when people keep it real. In real life too. For too long I have been a poser, not revealing much of my true self, no more, I am trying to change. OTOH, please, no whiny blogs either. So a balance. WE all struggle. Don’t give me the impression of a perfect life, cause I’ll get envious. Off to a week of camping…..

  4. Karen/SC/TMTM ~ You’re welcome! And, I feel similarly about finding other hs’ers in the blogosphere.

    Lori ~ I think you’ve nailed it — “perfect” blogs are missing the heart. You’ve made me think of another blog post… Hmm…

    Lisa ~ You’re going camping??!!?? I’m jealous. I didn’t realize you were a camping family. Just stay away from the Mississippi. 😀 I have a tendency to isolate, too, when things go poorly; it’s an excercise to keep myself connected, both IRL and in my blog, when things are tough.

  5. I’m with you on this thought, but never realised it until you wrote it, so thank you! I think that generally I try to stick to writing about things that have gone right for me; maybe, after this I’ll try putting in a few of the things which don’t go quite so right! Maybe that will make for a better blog. Keep up the good writing – I always enjoy reading it when your new posts arrive in my blogsurfer.

  6. I blogged about this in April when I was feeling something missing in a lot of the blogs I read. My blog is private so I can’t link you but the gist of it was that too many people wear a “blog-face.” Here’s a quote…

    “That is what I feel blogs can be like…people putting on their “blog face.” I know that even though I enjoy other blogs I often feel like I will never have it together after reading them. Their photos are always perfect, their houses in the background are not only spotless but look like they came out of a magazine, their crafts always look professional, their food always turns out, their hair and make-up is always meticulous…it goes on and on. I hope that some of this is staged for the blog but I know that some people are just naturally fabulous at what they do…and of course we blog our strengths. (Although I will on occasion blog a disaster but try to put a humorous spin on it so we all get a laugh…)

    So my dear readers, in case I have ever made you feel “less” because I have been wearing my blog face I apologize. I want you to know that my crafts are usually a rush job and later fixed with a glue gun…my bread almost always falls…my children more often than not are sporting battle scars from their daily fights…my house usually looks like this (or worse – a LOT worse)… etc…”

    I love the comment about the heart. So true…

    PS I’ve never commented before but I come here occasionally. I have a daughter with a nonverbal learning disorder (plus a host of other difficulties) and found you on a google search. Thanks for sharing.

  1. Pingback: So, tell me about your heart « Only Sometimes Clever

Leave a Reply

