Easiest Meat Marinade Ever

The last few days, I’ve been spending more time than usual on a homeschooling forum that I used to be addicted to participate in regularly, but when my dear friend had some problems with other members, and the whole thing was, in my opinion, highly mismanaged by the site/curriculum creators/administrators, I got a bad taste in my mouth, and left.

But…  I recently have had a concern regarding my pregnancy that I didn’t want to publish to the world on my blog, but I did want some BTDT opinions and professional answers, and I wasn’t happy with what my OB told me.  In addition to that forum being secure and private, it is populated with a wealth of nurses — most of them still practicing — who are also homeschooling moms.

(This doesn’t sound like a marinade recipe, does it???  Hang with me;  I’ll get there.)

Now that I’ve had some of my fears alleviated, and some exacerbated, as a result of my original post on the Sonlight Forums, I’ve been further poking around on my favorite part of the board, the clumsily-named Homemaking, Shopping Tips, Health & Fitness Discussion.

Someone asked for a recipe for marinating round steak, and I posted my suggestion.  I’d actually been meaning to post the recipe to this blog anyways.

So, without any further ado:

Easiest Meat Marinade Ever

(All of this is approximate; I usually just get out a big ziploc bag and pour it all in, mix it right in the bag by sealing and squooshing the bag, then I add the meat.)

  • 1/4 cup white vinegar
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 Tbsp water
  • 2-4 cloves pressed garlic
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • –whatever herb/spice sounds appealing to me**–
  • PLUS, about 2 Tbsp liquid soy lecithin

The soy lecithin (found in the supplements area of my natural foods store) is a natural emulsifier and slight thickener. It makes the oil mix with the vinegar and water, and makes the marinade thick enough that it sticks to the meat, even when grilling. It gives the meat a finished/professional/restaurant appearance, especially chicken. I do this with beef, pork and chicken. Generally, for tough cuts like round, I’ll let it marinate 8-24 hours.  Other meats, anywhere from 30 minutes to 8 hours. 

**for Italian seasoning, I just use an Italian herb blend plus dried onion. For Mexican, I use ground cumin, Mexican oregano, a little bit of red/cayenne pepper, and dried onion. Also, I often buy no-salt herb/spice mixtures at the store, and use them. The possibilities are endless.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on July 14, 2008, in Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, GF Recipes, GFCF Recipes, Homeschooling, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. That does sound tasty. 🙂

    I’m looking for some home-schooling resources. Starting my first year with a 15 year old and I am a bit lost! Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

