I don’t WANT a refund!

I will admit:  I often call customer service toll-free numbers, probably about once a week.  Usually, it’s just when I have a question about the ingredients of a product, since we have such weird dietary restrictions around here.  But, I’ve frequently called to express thanks or appreciation for a product.  VERY rarely, do I call to complain. 

I’m particular about my plastic wrap.  I’ve been buying Glad Cling-Wrap for at least 13 years, the length of my marriage.  I think I developed a preference for that particular product before I got married, so it’s probably closer to 15 or 17 years.  And, I use it daily, or close to it.  So, you could say I’m very familiar with Cling-Wrap.

The last package I bought, about a week ago, has given me no end of frustration.  It is my guess that Glad is now making the plastic wrap thinner, which is leading it to stick to itself with a clingy perseverance, so much so that it often won’t unroll.  Then, when it does unroll, it tears.  I take the roll out of the container, find where the tear started, re-start the roll, all whilst grumbling.  Finally, I pull out an untorn sheet, and it clings to itself and won’t untangle. 

So, I called Glad, with the motivation to say something simple like, “Is glad making Cling-Wrap thinner?  If so, I would like to express my hopes that they will return to the ‘old’ formulation.  Thank you very much.”

Instead, I got a lady who did not answer any of my questions.  She simply thanked me for reporting my “very unusual situation” and told me that she would forward my “complaint” to the proper department, and would like to issue me a coupon for a free product.

Um.  That’s not what I wanted.

Then, she forwarded me to an automated survey that, as I pressed numbers 1-7 on the keypad, measured my satisfaction with the call, with the c.s. rep, if I was likely to buy the product again, how many people were in my family, then how much money we make.

Ugh.

I don’t think of myself as a highly-demanding consumer.  I’m not petulant.  I’m not trying to scam any company into sending me loads of product.  I don’t think I’ve ever even asked for a refund.

But, I do like my questions to be answered, and it’s frustrating to me when a c.s. rep, who, it would seem, should be equipped to answer consumers’ questions, has no answers, but just wants to shove free product at me and say, “Will you still be our customer?”

Thus, I gripe on my blog.  😆

In the grand scheme of things, is it really going to damage my life if my plastic wrap isn’t up to my expectations?  Well, no.  Not at all.  But, if a company is producing a product, and I regularly use that product, and all of a sudden, the product stops performing as usual, I’d really like some recourse.  NOT a refund;  I want my good product back.  Harumph.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on July 16, 2008, in Shopping, Whining. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Costco brand cling wrap. In the two pack. with the cutter thing. You will like.

  2. Golly, Lisa, you’re quick. You must be one of my five subscribers. 🙂 Is the Costco plastic wrap mega-thick like Saran Wrap? I don’t like super-thick plastic wrap. If it’s not, I will take you up on your suggestion and add plastic wrap to my Costco list after my current, frustrating, roll of Glad Cling Wrap runs out.

  3. You could be annoying like me and continue to call until you get a customer service rep who will answer your questions.

    🙂

    I always end up in a battle with plastic wrap… therefore I try to avoid it when possible!

  4. No, it is not thick. Will last you a year. It is for restaurants. It clings well but not so much to itself.
    I don’t know how to subscribe, I have a blogroll I check WAY too often.
    I wanted it my way in birth too, BTW.

  5. Bernard Mehlbaum

    I was wondering if it was just me. My recent purchase of Glad Cling Wrap has yielded the very same problem. I agree, it is thinner and a total mess to work with. I have a box from a previous purchase to compare. I won’t buy the product that I have relied upon for so many years again. Often, in my experience, less expensive store-brands are superior.
    Occupy Glad Wrap!!
    –Bernard Mehlbaum

Leave a Reply

