What I’ve been doing in the last week (pregnancy news/doctor frustration)

Last Wednesday, a week ago, I had a prenatal visit with my OB.  I told him about a seemingly minor problem I’m having, that was more of an annoyance than anything.  I wasn’t really happy with his reply, so I turned to the expert group of moms on a homeschooling forum I’ve participated in, in the past.  Many of them are practicing nurses, and many of them have, well, had a lot of babies.

Long story short, it turns out that my “annoyance” apparently has roots in something more serious, and it ups my risk of bleeding while in labor and delivery, and for potential long-term problems after the baby is born.  I’m still in the information-gathering stage, and honestly, it’s been hard to get info, because what I have is quite uncommon.  I’m trying to figure out if this will increase the possibility of me needing a cesarean section or something like that, and so far, I haven’t received any really good answers.  It seems that all the information on my situation is “anecdotal,” meaning that since no major studies have been done, no one seems to know for sure.

ETA:  I’ve been doing some careful looking online — ACK!!  gotta be careful what terms one types into Google — and the only agreement seems to be that there is no agreement on the risk and treatment, neither between doctors nor midwives.  I’ve seen anything from a footnoted textbook source saying “rupture… and fatal hemmorage… is not unknown” to “it will resolve after birth, no treatment required.” 

My OB doesn’t seem to care, which is really bothering me.  His attitude has been kind of like, “Well, you’re not likely to die from a hemmorage.”  In other words, in his book, since I’ll live, it’s not that big of a deal.

The reason I switched to him after my old OB retired is because he was the one who actually delivered Audrey, and it was a fantastic experience.  He used to be in practice with my “old” OB, and I met with him once before Audrey was born, “just in case” he was the doc on call when I went into labor.  He was.  And, he remembered everything we had talked about, which was basically to produce a non-invasive, gentle, med-free birth with minimal pushing, and no trauma to myself.  That’s what I ended up with, and I was as pleased as punch.

But, now that he’s actually my doctor, it seems like he really doesn’t care about avoiding all the medical interference that, in the past, with four babies now, I’ve been able to avoid…  I don’t want a c-section.  I don’t want to be induced, and I don’t care how “late” I am*.  I don’t even want my water broken.  I don’t want meds.  I don’t want to be hovered over and pressured by doctors or nurses.  And, I want minimal trauma to myself, too. 

And his attitude now is, “Well, if the baby comes out healthy, then it’s all OK.”

Well, it’s not all OK with me!!  I know that boatloads of women have had and recovered fine from a c-section, but really, I’d like to avoid major surgery.  But, neither do I want to bleed excessively and have physical trauma that’s difficult to recover from, simply because I don’t want a c-section.  Does that make sense?

So… if you could pray for me, that would be fabulous.  I want to be able to find out more, and better information.  I want to be safe and healthy.  I’d really like to be able to deliver this baby girl similarly to how I delivered my other four children.  And, I don’t want to be in fear, no matter what happens.

Thank you, friends.

—————–

* In semi-related news, I had to twist his arm to get him to move my due date BACK to its original date of October 22, which was based on my LMP.  After my first ultrasound, he moved it up to October 10, because the baby appeared to be further along than my dates would indicate.  But with the second u/s I had, it indicated an EDD of October 20.  He wasn’t going to change it.  His attitude was, “Well, the earlier ultrasounds are usually more accurate.”  But, my contention was, “I don’t want it to get to October 12, 14, 16 and you’re pressuring me to induce, when the baby’s not ready — and never was ready — to come out until the 20th or 22nd or 24th!”  His reply?  “Well, inducing isn’t that big of a deal.  The latest stats are that up to 75% of deliveries are now induced.”  LIKE THAT’S A GOOD THING?????  LIKE THAT’S OK???  I told him, “Well, if you induce, that means pitocin.  If I have pitocin, that means I will need pain meds.  And, if I am induced and go on pain meds, that will increase my chances of ending up with a c-section.  I don’t want pain meds.  I don’t want a c-section.  I want a natural birth, like I’ve had for all four of my other children.”  He said, “Well…  I don’t know if inducing leads to a higher rate of c-sections [IT DOES], but you would certainly need pain meds.”  After I walked him through my own file, to show him that October 22 is a reasonable EDD, he semi-begrudgingly changed it.  👿

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on July 16, 2008, in Birth, Medical Stuff, Pregnancy, Scary stuff, Science. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I’m wondering if your “annoyance” could be the same thing I had during my second pregnancy… which I did manage to pull off vaginally… but just barely (I had a WHOLE list of other problems not related to the annoyance).

    Anyway… we will be praying for you. I know how stressful pregnancy and delivery can be, even with such a wonderful outcome!

    You can always switch Doctors… or go to a midwife, even this late in the game. Go with your gut!

  2. Midwife? They are not legal in MO. Any out of pocket money would be offset by less worry. This guy sounds like will do what it takes to get the baby out and to heck with what you think. Sorry!!!!

  3. ScheduledC-sections (according to both supermum and myself from our respective perspectives) have their plus-points. The other kind are a nightmare. We were pretty firm about wanting a natural birth last time out but had to contend (or rather supermum had to contend with whilst I took photos or whatever) dudelette somersaulting in every which way for weeks. So the poor consultants had to keep changing birthplans depending on whichever way up she was on a given week.

    But it is a major piece of surgery. A scheduled one is still very much a birth, though, in a way an emergency one isn’t quite. Though really, you know that it’s all utterly obliterated seconds after the nurse firmly drops that little bundle in your arms and tells you to go carry him/her over to mum…I’m coming over all misty eyed now.

  4. Just so you know, having pitocin doesn’t always lead to having to have pain meds. I’m one of those weird types that will end up dilated to 7 and 100% effaced and just go no further for up to 20 hours was how far they pushed it with my 2nd pregnancy. I’ve been given pitocin with all four of my children and it makes the contractions a LOT more intense from what I was experiencing pre-pitocin. But I have had all four of my children without the ‘benefit’ of pain meds, and had a good labor and delivery for the most part (military hospitals aren’t going to be all good)
    The thing about having the pitocin, is that (especially since you’ve had other children) it really speeds up the process. So I was going from 7 to baby in my arms in 45 min. I can handle anything if it means in 45 min I’m going to be holding my baby.
    So I’ll keep you in my prayers that you get the pregnancy and delivery you want. But I just wanted you to be aware that there are moms out there who have given birth while on pitocin and mananged to not use pain meds *grin*

  5. I gather the medicalisation of birth is common in the US? Here in NZ, we don’t even see an OB/gyn, (unless you want to and pay for it, or have a medical condition) and most women see only a midwife (for free) throughout the pregnancy and delivery.
    Would you consider a home birth? It’s a great way to avoid medical intervention if you don’t want it. (Of course depending on this annoyance and whether it turns out to be significant or not. Which, hopefully it doesn’t!)

  6. Sorry about the irritations. No fun! I hate it when doctors or midwives don’t listen.

    If you want to talk about it, email me.

Leave a Reply

