Her name is…

I’m slammed with preparations for our family vacation, but I had to write. 

(By the way, our house will not be empty, and our doggie will not be lonely.  A young man named Dillon will be staying here in our absence.)

At dinner tonight, Audrey started talking about her yet-to-be-born baby sister, and Martin said, “Your baby sister named Fiala?”  My jaw dropped.  I have been waiting for 3+ years to name a dear daughter of ours “Fiala.”  That’s what I had wanted to name Audrey, though I’m happy she’s Audrey.  “Fiala” is smuch too peaceful a name for crazy firecracker named Audrey.  He vaguely agreed that, if we had another girl, we could name her Fiala. 

So, before I got pregnant with this little girl, I said to Martin, “You know, if I get pregnant, and it’s a girl, I get to name her Fiala!”  But, now that I am pregnant, and it is with a girl, much to my consternation, he’s been, “Weeelllll…  I don’t know…”

It’s been hard, because it’s not like I want to twist his arm into naming our daughter a name he really detests.  But, I adore that name, for lots of reasons.  Admittedly, I’ve liked some unusual names that, in retrospect, I’m glad we ended up with boys and so were unable to use the name.  But, this one has stood the test of time.  Well, three years, anyways.  I still like it.  Martin, however, wasn’t convinced. 

But, there at the dinner table, he pronounced, “Yes, her name is Fiala Marie.”

Now, Marie is not my most favorite name… Obviously, I like unique names.  But, I said, “If you say we can name her Fiala, you can pick ANYTHING as her middle name!”

Martin said, “Marie means ‘beloved’.”  And he likes that.  (Well, actually, I just looked it up, and all I could find was that it means ‘bitter’.  Hm.)

Fiala means ‘violet’ in Czech.  It also means ‘daughter’ in Latin.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on July 22, 2008, in Pregnancy, The Dear Hubby, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. What a beautiful name. I like the ring of Fiala Marie… while Marie might be a “normal” name it sets a good tone with Fiala.

    My gf who is having girl #2 on Aug. 18 has decided on Sarah Margaret which BLEW me away. I did not anticipate such an ordinary name. But I have to admit its beautiful!

    Cheers!
    Jamie

  2. Fiala is cool

    Amy means Beloved.

    Not that I have a vested interest in THAT or anything. LOL

  3. I think Fiala Marie sounds nice! 🙂

  4. Just curious—is it pronounced fee AH luh?

  5. Jamie ~ Thanks!!! I’m glad you like it!

    Amy ~ BTW, twice in the last few weeks, I’ve seen reports of people naming their baby girls ‘Belen.’ I think the most recent was an actor from Desperate Housewives and his wife. 🙂 Long live lovely, simple, yet unusual girl names!!!

    Mrs. N ~ Thanks!!!!

    Joy ~ Yes, that’s how you pronounce it.

  6. I have an 11 day old girl named Fiala Jane. My husband and I fell in love with the name and so far everybody else seems to like it too!

  7. NO WAY!!!!!

    Fiala Jane is actually my first choice, but since my hubby is picking the middle name, it almost certainly won’t be Jane.

    Where did you first hear of the name? I just found it on a list of Czech girl names, about three years ago, and it was perfect. A friend of mine has a video for her 7yo daughter, and it has a fairy in it named Fiala. But, other than that, I’ve never heard of it anywhere!

    Congratulations on your beautifully-named new baby girl. :o)

  8. Thanks!

    I found the name on a baby name website. As soon as I discovered I was pregnant I was scouting out names. I wanted to find something original, pretty and not too strange sounding. I think Fiala fits that perfectly! She’s a wonderful, beautiful baby!

  9. Wow i was looking here on the net to see how many Fiala’s there are out there i was suprised to see so many. When i was pregnant 9 years ago waiting to the last minute to pick a name out my husband didn’t like gwen as a girls name so i left him pick it out when he came up with Fiala Idelle i said wow thats different so i get lots of compliments on her name to this day on how pretty it is. Marie is my middle name so i thought that was so neat that u named your baby Fiala Marie!

  10. Angie ~ Wow, that’s cool! So your Fiala is 9yo? What’s funny is that if we didn’t agree on Fiala, her name would likely have been Gwen or Gwyn. We named our baby (who is 2 months old today) Fiala Gabrielle. 🙂 Thanks for the comment!!

  11. Yes our little girl will soon be 9 in 2 months. Congradulations on your new baby!

    Angie

Leave a Reply

