The world-travelling husband

My husband, who has been with his employer for 17 years, gets five weeks of vacation per year.  You’d think that would be enough for a family to have at least a two week vacation every year.  Yet, it’s not.  This trip we just took, he eked six work days away. 

Part of the reason for his chronic lack of available vacation time is because sick days and broken-car days and other personal-needs days are lumped into vacation-time.  It’s all PTO, paid time off.  Additionally, he’s a world-galavanter, ministry-wise.

I’m thrilled with that, actually.  And, I’m only a teensy bit jealous.  I’ve “only” been to Mexico once, and Scotland twice on ministry trips.  Since we’ve been married, he’s been to Mexico five or seven times, Scotland three times, Ireland twice, and now, he’s going to add Romania to the list.

Timisoara, Romania, to be exact, which, despite its size of 300,000+ residents, I probably would never have heard of it, had not a family in our church emigrated from there.

He and our pastor, Dennis, and at least two others that I know of, are going to go and lead a “Destination of Worship” conference.  ‘Destination’ is something that Dennis and Martin came up with, spurred by a teaching by John Wimber, and from personal experience as to what “worked” for our worship services.  (The short version is, not that you can put God in a box, but there are things you can do as a leader – both the worship leader, and the pastor – to encourage the people, and to make it an inviting atmosphere for the Spirit, depending on where you want to GO, be it to a place of repentance, or the prophetic, or for celebration, etc., and there are a lot of things you can do to hinder the process, too…  And, just that worship should have a destination;  it should be unto something, not just time spent singing at the start of a church service.)

The only thing that makes me a tad nervous about this trip is that he’ll be gone eight days, and his return-home date is less than two weeks from my due date.  Not that I’ve ever given birth 14 days early… but I have given birth 11 days early, twice.  I feel a bit antsy about him being gone around that critical time…  but, I’ve totally released him with my blessing, and I know he’ll have a fabulous time, and that those to whom he ministers will reap a lasting fruit from his efforts.

Maybe I’ll get to go next time.  🙂

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on August 1, 2008, in Christianity, God/Christianity/Church, The Dear Hubby, Travelling, Vineyard Phoenix, Worship. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Yes, next time is YOUR turn!

Leave a Reply

