Too good of a deal…

I’m probably the only person who ever feels like this, but…  I always feel somewhat guilty for getting a fantastic deal on eBay.

What with the new baby coming in October, I’ve been keeping an eye out for toddler beds.  I had a search going on both Craigslist and eBay, and for a wood toddler bed, the going rate was anywhere from $40 on up.  My hubby and I discussed it, and although we decided we could pay $40, we weren’t in a huge rush, so I thought I’d hold out for something hopefully around $30.

Then, a local eBay auction popped up, with bidding starting at $0.99.  The listing was rather vaguely described, and I had a couple of dissatisfying interactions with the seller that were equally as vague, but the price was right.  So, I jumped in, putting my top bid at $30.50 or something like that.  Well, I won the bed.  For $20.50.  Twenty bucks!  They also included an older mattress that’s in usable shape (no damage to it, and it’s an innerspring, waterproof mattress, but the cloth binding was dirty.  Like dirt-dirty.  How does the binding on a mattress get dirty???  Using no sheets and eating in bed???  I don’t know.  I cleaned it up the best I could, but still feel a little odd about using it for the baby).  And, they threw in some bedding for a boy which, while I won’t use it, I plan on selling on Craigslist… for twenty bucks.

So, free toddler bed, if the bedding sells.

I’m pretty sure the bed is from Walmart, where it sells for just under $60, because I found the bedding on there, too.  Though it’s a nice bed — just what I was hoping for — and the seller said it was only seven months old, it was quite scuffed and banged up… and the bedding was dirty!!  But, still, it feels like I ripped off the seller.  If new, mattress, bed and bedding would have been at least $130-$150.  I know when I sell something on eBay that goes for way less than I was hoping for, it’s a rotten feeling, and it seems like I’ve done that to the seller. 

But, maybe I should just be happy for a (potentially) free bed.

Or, maybe I should start a business trolling for hot deals, then re-selling them!!  😀

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on August 2, 2008, in Furniture, Shopping. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. That’s identical to Mikaela’s toddler bed! How funny!

Leave a Reply

