The search for a doctor…

I hate finding doctors.  I really do.  I like finding ONE person who fills the need, then staying with him forever. 

I had that strategy with my OB/GYN, whose patient I was for 13 years… then he retired.  Retired!  How could he do that to me?  😉

So, I replaced him with his former partner, and I’ve had nothing but frustration — literal three hour appointments; an inept and disorganized and blame-shifting office staff; taking two weeks to return multiple phone calls; the doctor himself pushing me towards increasing medical intervention (after I’ve had four all-natural births); and to top it off, insisting that a problem I have must be herpes — herpes!  I said, “It’s NOT herpes.”  But, he gave me medicine samples and everything, which I didn’t take.  “Oh, well, the medication is safe when you’re pregnant, so when the test results come back confirming that it is herpes, you’ll have a few days’ head-start on the medication, which means you’ll heal up that much sooner.”  When they finally called me back with the test results, guess what??  It’s not herpes.  But, it’s something, and I do need medical attention, and I don’t feel confident in him as a doctor any more. 

I did a little investigating, and was recommended to another doctor who is, according to reports, much more willing to let a patient control her own birthing.  I see him on Friday.  The only bummer is that he only has privileges at a hospital that, while it is the nearest hospital to my home, it’s not my first choice for giving birth in.  But, if he’s a good doctor, I guess I’ll just live with that.  Plus, the hospital is a lot nearer to family and friends, so that just means more visitors after baby Fiala is born!  😀

I’m also looking for an allergist, mostly for Wesley, but also for the rest of our family.  Back shortly after Wes was diagnosed with celiac disease, and it became apparent after he was still having problems, that he had other food issues, we went to a supposedly-good allergist.  His response to just about everything was, “Well, food allergies are really hard to pin down.  Just avoid food that seems to be bothering him.”  Well, duh.  I don’t need to shell out a $20 co-pay, plus pay $8/hr for a babysitter for the rest of my kids to figure that one out.  He also was pushing to put Wes on tons of medications, rather than finding out the source of the problem!  I’d much rather avoid something that’s causing a problem than medicate its symptoms.  Apparently, I’m in the minority on that one.

So, I’m having a hard time finding an allergist.  The only pediatric allergist/immunologists within 20 miles of me and covered by our insurance only do skin-scratch tests and RAST tests to find the source of allergies.  I’m not a big believer in skin-scratch tests, nor am I eager to have my dear boy’s back scratched up.  And, RAST tests require drawing a particular amount of blood for each allergen tested, and they require that the allergen be in the body’s systems in order to come up with a positive result.  I want a doctor who will do Sage testing

Sage tests for a large variety of allergens in one blood draw, and gives a result of four levels of allergy (five, if you count ‘not allergic’), including delayed responses.  The doctors who know about it swear by it, but it’s relatively new technology, and not every doctor is even aware of it.  Oddly enough, my chiropractor can and will order the test, but we have to front the cost, and then we get reimbursed if insurance doesn’t cover it.  I’m trying to find out if our new insurance covers it or not.  And, honestly, while I really appreciate our chiropractor (who is also a nutritionist and NMD), I’d feel a bit better under the care of an allergist/immunologist.  But, a GOOD one.

We have figured out, nearly completely on our own, that Wes has celiac disease, and that he’s highly allergic to peanuts and dairy.  That has solved 95% of his health issues, and certainly the most serious ones.  But, there are still some lingering problems, and I’m pretty certain that they’re allergy-related, and it would be nice to know what those things are, so we can get Wes healthy-strong, not just not-sick, if that makes sense.

~sigh~

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on August 13, 2008, in Allergies, Celiac Disease, Medical Stuff, Pregnancy, The Kids, Whining. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Looking for a doctor…ugh! I feel for ya! Not very fun, especially getting near the end of pregnancy!

  2. I share your pain regarding Doctors… I am at my wits end!

    To finally get the sage testing done for K3, we had to go through a Naturopath MD. Our insurance has some NMD coverage so the visits weren’t too bad, they did not cover any of the blood testing. However, one the results came back and we removed all the nasties from her diet… its been AMAZING. The allergist said a couple of things- 1) that she had reflux and just wanted to treat it with drugs 2) that she didn’t have TRUE food allergies and that’s what he deals with 3) that her reactions to food were caused by our expectations. You can imagine, we never went back to him.

    Now I am on the search for a Doctor who can help her ongoing breathing issues. The pediatrician treated her 3 times for pneumonia, when in reality she needs allergy/asthma management, not antibiotics (the same antibiotic all three rounds as well!)

    Good luck with your search! My goal is to find a traditional MD who is trained as a NMD and in Eastern Medicine as well… then hopefully the insurance will cover and the Doctor will mix a combination of skills to figure it all out!

    Cheers!
    Jamie

  3. Daja ~ Thanks for the commiserations. 🙂

    Jamie ~ OMGoodness, we are so on the same page!!!!! I would LOVE an MD (or a DO) who is also trained as an NMD. Eastern medicine/Ayurveda isn’t as important to me, but I am a firm believer in the effectiveness of herbs and other natural medicines — when used right. Several friends of mine go to an NMD, and really like her…. but a couple of other friends have had bad experiences with the prescriptions she’s given them, or just with her. (Like, she told a friend of mine, “I can tell you have celiac disease, just by looking at you.” CD is such a soapbox of mine, but I just don’t think you can tell by looking at someone if they have CD. And, my friend didn’t.) … I’m surprised you can’t find anyone there in Oregon!! Aren’t the doctors a little more earthy there? One would think, anyways. … About asthma — if you know your dd already has food allergies, the asthma could be food-related, as well. You’re probably aware of that, though.

  4. don’t even get me started….i had another ‘episode’ this week- which included not being able to breathe to well… i BEGGED hubby to NOT call 911 knowing i’d go to the hospital, they poke and prod and find NOTHING!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (sorry i had to yell that.) I knew as long as i kept breathing I’d be OK. but we did have our fingers on 911 and the epi pen ready. can you tell me more about SAGE testing? i’ll go look at the website now. is it IgG or just IgE or both?? The allergists have said i have ‘ideopathic anaphalyxis’, the hormone doc wanted to give me testosterone (and other things), the rhuematologist said I was fine as did the hematologist, another doc said I had leaky gut and sold me $700 of supplements last year. …. you have my email…if you have any great links for me please let me know. thanks, amy

  1. Pingback: Woo-hoo!! One good doctor found, one to go… « Only Sometimes Clever

Leave a Reply

