Fourth day of school, and we’re DONE with spelling for the year!!

I waver between being hyper-organized and completely disorganized. 

I need a plan of organization so that I don’t end up wasting a ton of time… but, then I feel crowded and pressured by my supremely-organized schedule, and I need some weeks at a more relaxed pace in order to decompress and de-stress.  But, then…  without the organization, pretty soon, my days devolve into me being completely unwise (perhaps even lazy) with my time, and I need to ramp up the organization again.

Seems like I should have matured out of this pattern a while ago.

That said, this first week of our seventh year of homeschooling has been fantastic (other than our awful first day) — and without a real schedule.  And without us even doing all the subjects.  I think this is the first time I’ve started school this way. 

I actually do have the Sonlight Instructor’s Guides for my kids, but usually, that’s not enough.  What I normally do is make a monthly chart of all the work my kids need to do each day beyond SL — like Math, Handwriting, English, Music, Latin, Science (if they’re not using SL science, which my oldest isn’t), Spelling…  ummm…. am I missing anything?

We can cross of Spelling from the list, though.  I decided that if each boy tested at least two grade levels beyond their own, that they could forego “official” spelling.  Now, that doesn’t mean that spelling is totally neglected — any homeschooling mom will attest to the fact that there are numerous, daily opportunities to correct spelling errors, throw in an impromptu lesson on a spelling rule, etc.  I mean official spelling-as-a-subject, with lists and weekly tests.

So, I got out our big, orange Spelling Power book, and turned to the page with the 50-word survey test, and went for it.  Both boys ended up getting 9 words wrong, which placed them both at grade level 8.5.  Grant is in 4th grade, Ethan in 6th.

Woo-hoo!

The only one who wasn’t totally happy about the results was Ethan, who was fairly displeased that his brother, who is two years younger, scored exactly as he did.  I did make sure that Grant was gracious, and corrected any of his celebrations that took a turn down Gloating Lane.  But, I don’t blame him for being pleased with his aptitude for spelling.

Anyways.

I don’t think we can continue indefinitely with no real plan for the school year.  But, so far, so good.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on August 28, 2008, in Get Organized!, Homeschooling, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. HI KAren,

    I’m a lurker. I found your blog while looking up gluten free recipes on the net.

    I am also in Arizona (for one more week) and I just started my first year of homeschooling three weeks ago. I am using Sonlight Core 3.

    Since we had so many things in common I decided to “come out” and tell you that I enjoy your blog!

    Kellie

  2. Good for you…knowing just what your kids need–and don’t need.

    I also left off spelling with my oldest from about 2nd grade to 7th. Now she works vocabulary/spelling through Wordly Wise.

  3. Wow. Congratulations! That is very impressive.

    ~Luke

  4. Oh can I understand that one. This is trhe first year that we have done more of a relaxed type year. At first it was really stressing me out. But now it is OK!

    We stopped spelling this year and I will jsut be doing it in their regular assignments.

Leave a Reply

