Wee thoughts for Friday

It’s been a good day:

  • I must say I am THRILLED about McCain’s choice of Sarah Palin as his VP.  Tough, spunky, socially conservative, true reformer, fiscally responsible, mother of FIVE (including her oldest, who is a soldier, and her youngest, who has Down’s Syndrom, whom she chose not to abort), 44 years old…  Woo hoo!!!  McCain-Palin 2008!!!!  Longtime readers of this blog may remember that I have long been a strong supporter of McCain, but with Palin added to the ticket, I am EXCITED!!  Hopefully, Palin will draw some fence-sitters over, and give motivation to some only-begrudgingly supportive Republicans, like my Uncle Steve, who semi-tongue-in-cheek, wrote a post in May entitled Sarah Palin for President.
  • I am also bursting with some news that isn’t mine to share…  but something that I’m thrilled over.
  • I had another doc appointment this morning.  They started off with an ultrasound…  to my surprise, it included some 3D imaging, and I got to see some fantastic footage of my 32-week-old daughter.  By the u/s, she measures 4 lbs 12 oz, which puts her in the 90th percentile.  My doc is semi-worried.  Not worried, I guess, but even though I think he’s a great doctor, and I’m glad I switched, if I go much past my 39th week, I can see in advance that I’m going to have to strongly advocate for myself NOT to be induced — although for him, inducing starts with some natural/homeopathic ‘remedies.’  I will continue to advocate for a non-interventive start of labor, and refuse treatment for induction, if it comes down to that.  Two of my four children were born at 38 weeks, so I’ll be praying for that, so the whole thing won’t be an issue.  Asking him about the carb/weight situation, he did say that it wasn’t his aim for me to lose weight (I “officially” lost 1 lb in the two weeks since I last saw him, but according to my scale, I’ve lost four lbs…), but for me to limit my carbs.  He agreed that if I was dropping weight like gangbusters at 100g carbs, but seem to be stable at 150g carbs, to up my daily intake to 150g, which I’ve already done.   … Back to the ultrasound — Seeing my unborn baby Fiala’s sweet face on the screen has made even more love and expectation rise up in my heart.  I’ve been walking around all day, almost dreamily happy.  It has made her feel like even more of a PERSON, and not just an idea who thumps around in my tummy all day.  She has chubby cheeks, very girly lips, does not seem to have my jutty/manly/square chin, has an absolutely serene expression, and an unfortunately large-looking nose.  (Both my hubby and I have larger-than-average schnozzes, but our kids have been pretty much spared in the nose category, so far.)
  • I was reflecting that, for the last two weeks solid, ALL my posts have been either pregnancy-related, or school-related.  I feel half an urge to apologize for the monotony…  but, it’s a good monotony.  I must say that I never thought I’d be so very thankful to live a life where I get to indulge in such joys.  There are still other things that go on in my life, but, obviously, my thoughts are overtaken with those two subjects…  🙂  I’m extremely thankful to be a stay-at-home, homeschooling, pregnant mother.    
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on August 29, 2008, in Birth, Homeschooling, Political Thought, Pregnancy, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Now *she* is a conservative…..but how did they address her in sentence one on whatever news outlet I was reading about her on? As a *maverick*. And why is this significant you might ask? Because she is a great choice and a threat, so they had to tag her basically as “just like him”. Maverick=McCain to the print media. She is SO not just like him. My dh and I want to make a Palin for VP sign and leave the Other Guy out of it.

    My only issue with her is my heart gets sad for her children as she will become so busy and see them so little unless God gives her the grace and she has the will to somehow not let that happen. I know that just with my teensy home business just about sent me to a white padded room this past year. Not remotely the pressure, responsibility and hours away. I have to say that her family all looked a little checked out and depressed in the photo I saw. I wish she was 50ish and past the babies!!

  2. Thanks for sharing your joy!

    Yay for baby Fiala! I’ve had big babies too and somehow they manage to get out. 🙂 I’m sure everything will be great!

    I’m also very excited about McCain/Palin. What a great combination.

    Cheers!
    Jamie

  3. That was a jolly short honeymoon. My misgivings are growing about dear Sarah Palin. I just feel like this is about the worst time in her personal life to be running around campaigning 24/7 for the next 3 months. Her son is going to Iraq=Stress. Her 17 yo daughter is pregnant and needs her and is planning not to adopt, but to marry a guy with a MySpace that reads “I’m a f* redneck!”=Stress. She is post partum and adjusting to having a retarded child and all that might entail=Stress. Her man’s man dh will have to give up fishing and the pipeline to be what? Mr. Mom. What will this man do in Washington DC!?=Stress. The Press is loving every minute of having the whole lot of them for dinner=Stress. I so wish this was 15 years down the road in her personal life, but here we are. This from a press that decries bringing your personal life into it. H Word comes to mind. So she has a real family with real problems with human children. Not earthshaking news. Actually good news. She’s not Martha. But, I do think all of it taken in total will spell shipwreck for her family if G*d is not behind this whole thing. Praying for mercy, grace and G*d’s will to prevail.

  4. MISINFO ALERT
    It’s late, but I am hacked about some gossip I may have spread accidentally. I was reading on a discussion board on a Third Day site about Palin. The folks on there seemed to believe the stinking MySpace (gosh I hate that site w/o apology!) for Palin’s daughter’s boyfriend was a scam/bogus. It said the line about being a f* Redneck and hating Rebublicans and loving Obama and had some 39 friends who were NOT Alaskan residents–not one. So, it begins. I think either some kids or some Democratic operative took advantage of the moment to slime these kids when they are down!! How low can they go? More to come on the party that supports women working and daycare and teen s*x and privacy!! (unless they don’t like you)

  1. Pingback: My thoughts (and Daja’s) on Sarah Palin « Only Sometimes Clever

Leave a Reply

