How well do you know your husband?

Here’s a fun little meme from Daja’s blog.  She says her own husband is the best, but I’m awfully partial to mine.  😀  Love you, Babe!!

1. Sitting in front of the tv, what’s on the screen?
A sports event (though it has to be one of his/our teams, not just any ol’ team), SportsCenter on ESPN, or, lately, Corner Gas.  (I don’t know what it is about Canadian TV — I think it’s the quirkier scripts — but we both really like it.)

2. You’re out to eat; what kind of dressing does he get on his salad?
Usually Italian.  He doesn’t like creamy dressings.  If there’s a selection that is more creative than simply Italian, but it’s not creamy, he’ll probably go for that.

3. What’s one food he doesn’t like?
Tomato soup

4. You go out to the bar. What does he order?
We don’t really go to bars. But, sometimes, on date nights, he’ll order a red wine.


5. Where did he go to high school?
He went to five different high schools.  He graduated from Heart to Heart Christian School. 

6. What size shoe does he wear?
11

7. If he was to collect anything, what would it be?
Guitars, complete with their own humidity-controlled room.

8. What is his favorite type of sandwich?
Anything with a whole lot of meat on it.

9. What would this person eat every day if he could?
I don’t know about every day, but he’ll happily eat Mexican food a good five times a week.  Oh!  Tortilla chips and salsa.  I think he does eat that every day. 

10. What is his favorite cereal?
Rice Chex.  He also likes Honey Bunches of Oats, but since he’s trying to be gluten-free, he would prefer Rice Chex.

11. What would he never wear?
A Speedo.

12. What is his favorite sports team?
He’s been a Packers fan since his early childhood, but now that Brett’s gone to the Jets, he is torn.  I’ve also turned him into a diehard baseball/Diamondbacks fan.  And the Suns. 

13. Who will he vote for?
McCain.  For certain.  He gets really wearied by politics in general, but there is no question that he’ll vote for McCain.

14. Who is his best friend?
Before we were married, he was best friends with a guy named Ralph.  We’re still good friends with Ralph and his family, but it’s not like they hang out regularly.  He’s also good friends w/ our associate pastor, Doug.


15. What is something you do that he wishes you wouldn’t do?
Be sarcastic with the kids, yell at them (I say, “I’m not yelling, I’m chastising” but I think it’s the tone that bothers him).  There are probably more things that I don’t do that he wishes I would, rather than things that I do do that he wishes I wouldn’t.

16. How many states has he lived in?
Arizona, North Carolina, California, and briefly in Indiana.  So, that’s four.

17. What is his heritage?
Other than one grandparent being of Dutch descent, he’s really not sure.  We’re not even sure of our last name, which might be German, or might be Russian.  I’ve always found that a bit unsettling, since both sides of my family (though especially my mom’s) finds geneaology incredibly important.  We’ve had conversations that it would be fun to do one of those gene tests that finds out your heritage, but that’s not something we’re likely to spend money on just for fun.

18. You bake him a cake for his birthday; what kind of cake?
He doesn’t like cake, except for carrot cake.  I usually make him a pumpkin pie for his birthday, since that’s his favorite.  I think last year, I did make him a carrot cake.

19. Did he play sports in high school?
He played soccer and a little bit of football.

20. What could he spend hours doing?
Playing guitar.  Endlessly.  For hours.  Literally, six or eight hours at a time, sometimes.  He’s good at it, and he writes songs, and he leads worship at our church (on guitar), and he loves music in general, so it’s pretty easy for him to totally lose track of time while playing guitar.  One of the best gifts I ever bought him was a Vox Amplug, so he could play electric w/o plugging it into an amp.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on September 5, 2008, in Memes, The Dear Hubby. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. In some ways your hubby sounds much like mine. Hubby doesn’t play guitar YET, but he definitely wants to learn and is likely to go overboard.

    Cheers!
    Jamie

  2. If supermum was to do this (unlikely – she’s a pretty sporadic blogger) 6,7, and 11 might look pretty similar. Though she’d probably claim that I go overboard on anything I take up.

    Let’s pass lightly over 13, shall we? 😉

  3. Daja ~ Thanks for the meme!

    Jamie ~ Totally OT, but every time I see a comment from you, I think, “She so looks like Sam Phillips in her avatar.” Sam Phillips is a fairly obscure though critically acclaimed (female) singer-songwriter who, in the 80s, recorded as a Christian musician under the name of Leslie Phillips. If you’re interested, just do a search on Amazon… and especially look at the cover art for The Indescribable Wow. I keep waiting for a different pic of you to be posted on your own blog, to confirm or deny the likeness, and while you regularly post pics of your adorable children, I haven’t seen any of you!! 😀 Anyways…

    (u)rd ~ Welcome back to the Blogosphere, btw! So, that probably actually only makes two similarities between yourself and my husband, since I think UK shoe sizes differ from US sizes. And, yes, we shall pass lightly over #13; I know our politics (among other things) are very different. Still. I very much enjoy reading your accounts of adventures in parenting, as well as your stellar photography. 🙂

Leave a Reply

