My thoughts (and Daja’s) on Sarah Palin

Have you seen the polls lately?  Far from the death knell that some predicted for McCain, Palin appears, at least in part, to be responsible for the Republican ticket rebounding.  McCain-Palin is leading Obama-Biden in most of the latest polls, and those in which they are not outright leading, they’re tied.  Now, I know that doesn’t assure the Republicans of a victory in November, but it sure sounds a lot better than being down by 4-8% in the polls, prior to the Republican National Convention, and John McCain’s announcement of Sarah Palin as his running mate.

The day of his announcement, I blogged a bit about my excitement over his choice.  I’ve not changed my tune there.  But, I have sobered up a bit as I’ve read many ultra-conservative stories questioning Palin’s ability to be VP, and even the righteousness of her holding office.

There was one really good story, a week ago or so, comparing Palin to the Biblical Deborah that I was going to quote and link to here on my blog, but the commentary after it got so whacked out that I decided not to give it any more press…

Sarah as Rosie the Riveter, stolen from Dajas blog!!

Sarah as Rosie the Riveter, stolen from Daja's blog!!

I found a better option today, on Daja’s blog.  She writes the best refutation I’ve yet read/heard of those who are under the belief that a) women shouldn’t hold office, and/or b) it’s flawed to compare Sarah Palin with Deborah.  PLEASE take a few minutes to read Daja’s well-researched, well-reasoned, always gracious posting.

So.  Daja has the Biblical perspective wrapped up, but I have a few more thoughts of my own.

Back to the news of McCain-Palin leading in the polls:  If absolutely nothing else, I say that it was worth it to choose Palin just so that Obama won’t get elected.  Many of his ideas are, to me, just so wrong.  It seems like, yes, he would lead America to change, but to change on the wrong path….  He readily admits he sees government as the savior of our country.  I don’t.  I won’t go into all of my legion disagreements with Obama, but suffice it to say I strongly disagree with almost all of his major stances.

However, I support Palin as VP not just because she’s simply an antidote to Obama, but because she does appear to have all the qualities (and beliefs, and political stances) that would bring good change to our dear country.

I do have minor reservations about her being able to handle the position while mothering four children who are at home. However, she’s not me. I couldn’t do it, but that doesn’t mean she couldn’t.  Plus, she’ll have all sorts of help that I just don’t have available for myself.  Goodness, who knows what I could accomplish if I had someone simply cleaning my house, doing my family’s laundry, and cooking my family’s food (though I also read that she fired the chef appointed for the Alaska governor, preferring to cook for her own family).  Not to mention not having to find a babysitter ever.  I’m sure she won’t be spending as much time with her kids as I do with mine, but that doesn’t mean that they are destined for failure as a family. 

Plus… although the VP is a full-time job, it’s surely not as demanding as the presidency.  Of course, as VP, she may end up, in a tragedy, as the President.  (Although, longevity seems to run in McCain’s family — did you see the pics/shots of him with his mother recently??)  But, it seems to me that the role of VP would be inherently a lot more flexible than that of the Presidency — the President needs to be visible nearly 100% of the time, but not so much for the VP.

In short, I don’t think every mother of five could be the Vice President of the United States.  But, if any one can — and if anyone should — it seems to me that Sarah Palin is our woman.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on September 9, 2008, in Motherhood, Political Thought. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank you for linking to me! There’s going to me more Biblical commentary and a few rants on this subject as I try to refute all the negativity! LOL So, stay tuned! And thanks again for linking!

  2. I enjoyed yours as much as Daja’s.
    Thanks for all the good material.

    I tried to comment yesterday on the post about your boys and I was having troubles so I will try and come back today.

Leave a Reply

