More on babies and homeschooling… of course

Babies, homeschooling, and a little bit of politics (though not on this post).  And a bit of baseball.  Such is life, lately.  It’s a good life, too.

  • I was fairly excited about a recent idea I had to simply skip Sonlight’s Core 4 and move onto Core 5.  Then, I talked to my son about it.  My logic didn’t make sense to his very linear mind;  skipping was out of the question.  Here’s the thing:  We have been fairly leisurely strolling through Core 3 since February of last year, when he was in the middle of 4th grade.  However, now that he’s in 6th, and we’re still only on week 24-25, I’m getting a little panicky.  I pulled out the most recent Sonlight catalogue, and figured out how many Cores we’d miss out on, continuing at such a pace.  Even with our nominally sped-up pace we’ve been in these last three weeks of school, at best, we won’t finish until early December, especially with a baby coming in October.  So, I thought, “Well, since Core 4 ‘just’ covers US history from about 1840 to present, and he’ll be covering that sometime in high school, why don’t we just skip to Core 5?  Then, we won’t be so far behind… plus, Core 5 just seems MEATY/JUICY-interesting, while Core 4 pretty much just centers around the Civil War, and World Wars I & II.”  Sounded all right to me…  But, Ethan is pretty much scandalized over the thought of missing out on studying three major wars, and wasn’t enticed by the list of all the things he’d be studying imminently if we’d just skip a Core.  Oh, well.  I’m quite linear myself, and was a little bugged about the idea of not covering the last 160 years+ of American history.  Plus, Core 4 is a whole lot less money than Core 5.  And, Core 4 has so many readers and read-alouds that maybe we can get it done in record time (for us, ‘record time’ means getting a year’s worth of material finished in one actual year).  So, Core 4 it is. 
  • I am ever the more committed to Craigslist.  It’s been a long time, but I think I blogged a while back about how we have never, ever bought one new piece of furniture in our lives.  Ever.  Well, unless you count Ethan’s mattress, which came from Ikea, to go on his captain’s bed that we got, used, of course, off of eBay.  Well, we got three bar stools from Ikea, too.  Other than that, it’s all been from estate sales, garage sales, eBay, Craigslist, hand-me-downs, and so on.  I’m not a city girl at heart, but something great about living in a big city is that someone, somewhere, likely has exactly what you want to buy, at the price you want to pay.  So, with a little searching, for less than half of retail, I’ve found a Joovy Caboose stroller — it’s a sit/stand double-stroller, but in addition to the standing ledge, there’s also a seat for the older kid to sit and be seat-belted into.  Cool, eh?  There are a lot of double-strollers out there, but most of them are HUGE, and won’t fit in the back of my vehicle.  Or, they’re sit-stand, with only the standing option for the older child, and, well, truthfully, Audrey needs to be clicked into a seat belt from time to time.  You know, forced self-control, since at 2 1/2 years old, she hasn’t quite developed the self-control needed to keep her from running around in public.  (Or, I haven’t developed effective means of reigning her in, one or the other.)  The only bummer about the Craigslist stroller is that it’s blue and black.  Oh, well.  I also found a really nice wooden cradle right around the corner from my house, for only $35 — I had given away our old bassinet on Freecycle.  And, I found some really lovely virtually unused bedding for the cradle for $30.  Woo hoo!  I don’t actually have any of this stuff yet, but I hope to, after a bit of driving around tomorrow.  With less than six weeks until my EDD, I’m also getting panicky about how unprepared we are.  Eek!
  • Saturday is the Diamondbacks game (my poor, on-a-skid-at-the-worst-possible-time Diamondbacks) where they’re having a peanut-restricted, glassed-in party suite.  I’m so excited!!!  This will be Wesley’s first baseball game in about three years, since we found out that his peanut allergy had escalated into anaphylaxis.  My husband Martin is going to be sitting in the cheap seats with our older boys, Ethan and Grant, who actually will be sitting in the FREE seats, courtesy of their bookworminess and the local library’s summer reading program, Read Your Way to the Ballpark.  On top of that, they sent us an (unexpected) parking pass with the party-suite tickets.  So, free parking.  AND, my mom and stepdad are going to stay with Audrey, so free babysitting.  Woo hoo!  The only bummer about THAT is that, of all people, Jessica Simpson is giving a concert for all ticketholders after the game, which means that we have to get there extra early in order for Martin and the boys not to be in a MEGA nosebleed section, since the boys’ tickets have to be picked up from the ballpark itself, on the day of the game.  It’s also Dan Haren bobblehead night on Saturday, which the boys are more excited about than I am.  Five bobbleheads is more than we can reasonably use, I think.  At least they’re not Jessica Simpson bobbleheads.       
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on September 11, 2008, in Allergies, Arizona, Baseball, Homeschooling, Pregnancy, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. “Five bobbleheads is more than we can reasonably use”- Ha! Now I’m thinking of reasonble uses for bobbleheads.

    Earthquake sensor
    A way to nonverbally express ambivalence
    Baby distractor
    … I’m coming up dry already.

  2. We are in Core 3 and I have a 6th grader. I am not too worried about it though. He excels at all school stuff so I just make sure that he does more than the girls.

    Yeah for the ballgame. We went to the ball game, that the kids got from their library, last month. Oh yeah we nearly died from the heat.

    We are new Craigslist users. So far everything we have called about has been taken. Funny thing that we have only bought one thing brand new. Everything else is hand-me-downs, garage sales (my major addiction), and thrift stores.

  3. I’m in love with my sit-and-stand stroller! You’re gonna love it, too!

  4. I thought Jessica Simpson WAS the …. Oh, never mind.

Leave a Reply

