Tidbits for the week

  • I have crafted — or started to craft — a theory about women and dieting.  I think it may have a lot to do with personal power and control.  I have found myself with the unexpected satisfaction of knowing that, since I’ve been successfully more-or-less South Beach Dieting for five or six weeks, if I have an “off” day, I can easily get back on track.  I’ve only had one real off day… well, off weekend — this past weekend where I went to a ballgame, then went to lunch plus the afternoon at my in-laws.  Both days were pretty much a loss for the whole carb-count thing, and in those two days, I put on nearly two pounds.  But, on Monday, I hopped right back on the diet, and the extra weight (not that it was loads or anything) came off in three days.  That felt good.  It felt strangely powerful.  That led me to some more reflection about dieting in general.  I have mentioned before that I am NOT normally a dieter.  As well, I’m not the kind of person who is interested, at all, in acquiring power or position for myself.  I like my life, and don’t normally feel a need to micromanage it.  There are ups, there are downs, and I think I weather most things fairly well.  But, I can see how easily dieting could become (for some, anyways, and at least theoretically) all about the want/need for power and control.  Whatchya think?? 
  • Our washing machine broke on Saturday.  (This simple six-word sentence led to three hours of mayhem and mopping, with tensions flying, and lots of apologies issued afterwards.  Words just don’t do justice to real life, sometimes.)  This, after I had done exactly two loads of laundry, with another six or so to go.  I’ve got a good 10-12 loads to do, now.  My hubby, Martin, tipped the washing machine over and found the piece that was obviously broken, which, thankfully, was quite accessible.  He then found the part online and ordered it.  The part arrived yesterday, and he put it in last night, about 10 p.m., after he came home from Bible study.  Woo hoo!  I’m very proud of him because, though he is extremely competent in a vast number of areas, he’s not exactly Mr. Fixit.  Him fixing the machine saved us at least the $90 trip-and-labor charge levied by a company we’ve used in the past, plus whatever markup they’d put on the piece itself.  The washer and dryer have been humming nonstop since late last night.  🙂
  • We were going to have a big worship team meeting at our house on Saturday, but after about 3/4 of the people were legitimately unable to come, Martin decided to cancel it.  This is actually a great relief to me.  I truly love having our home filled with friends, but what with being heavily pregnant, and a host of other things going on, it was stressing me out a bit.
  • I have been awarded a bloggy award by the friendly and helpful Jamie from Looks Good in Polkadots.  However, I must say that I absolutely do not understand the award at all.  Maybe because it was originally written in Portuguese, and has lost something (or maybe gained something?) in translation.  I do appreciate the thought, though, Jamie.  I will happily claim the rather ambiguous award, but don’t feel like I can pass it on if I don’t understand it.  🙂  I hope you understand.
  • If you are an expert potty trainer, please visit my bloggy-friend Helen at A Was Alarmed.  Her nearly-3yo is giving her fits, and while I read her post with a great deal of sympathy, and found myself just wanting to give her a hug, I have absolutely no advice.  Can you help her???
  • After happily exhausting the works of Jane Austen this year, I thought I’d take on other 19th century women novelists, starting with the Bronte sisters.  I rather randomly picked out Villette, by Charlotte, largely because I was completely unfamiliar with the story.  I’ve seen and loved the PBS/BBC version of Jane Eyre at least twice, and while the book always varies from the movie/TV production, I felt like I knew the plot line well enough that I wouldn’t be surprised at all.  I like to encounter the unexpected when reading.  Villette took me a good 50+ pages to warm up to, but now, I’m enthralled with the story.  Charlotte Bronte is much more dramatic, vivid, and theatrical than Austen.  Wordy, too.  Verbosely wordy.  Inflatedly wordy.  I’ve laughed several times, because she’ll fill a paragraph with florid description, then end it with, “in short, _______.”  Here’s a small example:  “A heated stove made the air of this room oppressive; and, to mend matters, it was scented with an odour rather strong than delicate:  a perfume, indeed, altogether surprising and unexpected under the circumstances, being like the combination of smoke with some spiritous essence — a smell, in short, of whiskey.”  I have the happy circumstance of not having any idea where Charlotte Bronte is heading.  Many of the events in the story seem fairly random, and I’m very interested to see if she’s going to tie them together in the end, or what.  The only thing that has been a major dissatisfaction with the story is that I absolutely cannot figure out what happened to the heroine’s family.  It’s like Charlotte Bronte is excessively wordy when I just want her to get on with it, then withholds vital details like, “Did her family all die?  Or what??  Why is she suddenly all alone with no family and no friends??”  I read the page or two that referred to this transition at least three times, and could not, for the life of me, figure out what happened.  It’s my best guess that the author was being purposefully vague, so as to be able to re-introduce various friends/family members later in the story as a surprise.  I really don’t know, though. 
  • Lastly:  If, like me, you have a habit of unintentionally supporting your local library’s aquisition budget by accruing fines, please visit Library Elf.  You pick your library from a surprisingly extensive, world-wide list of libraries, and enter your library card number and e-mail addy.  Then, you set your notification preferences, and you’ll receive e-mails (and/or texts messages, if you’d prefer) when you have items out that need to be renewed.  It doesn’t renew the items for you, though.  🙂  Maybe that’ll be Library Elf 2.0   
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on September 18, 2008, in Books I'm Reading, Contests, Family, Housework, Interesting Websites, Parenting, Pregnancy, Random Stuff, The Dear Hubby. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. RIght now we only have 2 out of 7 cards we can use because we have so many fines at the library. Mostly on DVDs. Funny thing is that I use Library Elf, but I look at then delete it and then promptly forget about it. If it renewed them for me that would be awesome.

    No potty training tips. Even though I have potty-trained five. I will have to go read her post though.

    Diet is killing me. I usually don’t have a problem with my weight (when not prego). But with the gestational diabetes, I have to watch my diet. I want to be able to eat if I want. I guess it is still control.

  2. Karen, I signed up for an online account with the Phoenix Public Library and it sends me reminders via email, too, no matter what branch I have checked stuff out from. I LOVE phone/internet renewal, otherwise I’d be toast.

  3. Thank you, Karen!! I really appreciate that. I can’t say we’re much further ahead now than at the beginning of the week but I’m trying to be more patient, so *maybe* that is progress!

    I’m thinking about going on a diet, mostly because I feel as if I’m eating so unhealthily lately, which might be why I’m always ill! I will check out the South Beach one.

  4. A lot of people would agree with you that dieting and weight loss is totally about control. Look at women with eating disorders- I’m not suggesting you have an eating disorder at all, but a lot of women who have chaotic lives begin to feel like their diets or weight is the only thing they can control. It doesn’t help that women are encouraged to obsess about our weight and equate it with our self-worth. I say if you’re healthy, you’re gf, you can exercise and enjoy life, eat what you want. Life is too short to waste obsessing about food. http://jan.ucc.nau.edu/hdh9/e-reserves/Chernik_-_The_body_politic_PDF.pdf

Leave a Reply

