The girls of our family… (mostly)

Today, Ethan (my 11yo son) told me that he didn’t know if he could handle another sibling.  After asking a few questions, I realized that his concern was that he didn’t have enough room in his heart for another sister, when Audrey is so dear to him.  It was almost enough to make me cry.  Sweet kind of cry, that is.  He really does adore Audrey.  I told him that I felt like that when he was a baby, and I was pregnant with his younger brother, Grant.  I just wasn’t sure I’d love Grant like I did him.  But, the second Grant was born, my thought was, “He’s perfect.”  He actually had meconium aspiration (even though I had NONE of the risk factors), and they sent about eight doctors over to work on him for 30 minutes, which were among the most heart-excruciating minutes of my life — I just wanted to hold my baby.  Suffice it to say, I tried to tell Ethan that I understood his feelings;  he just didn’t have a grid for a new baby sister, but that I was confident that once he meets Fiala, his feelings will change.  I hope they do, anyways.  However, I will continue to be delighted if Ethan and Audrey always have an especially close relationship.

Being pregnant with my fifth, I often get startled-to-negative comments about the size of my family.  So, it’s always a pleasant surprise when someone has something nice to say.  At Burger King today, a mom at the table behind us started up a conversation asking if I knew if I was having a boy or a girl… and we ended up in a friendly chat for several minutes.  She was there with her daughter, who was about 5, and they were both pretty smitten with Audrey, who kept ‘flirting’ with the both of them, all through lunch.  🙂  The mom said Audrey was “full of personality” which is an understatement.

One of my errands today was to go to Babies ‘R’ Us to get a couple more cradle sheets, and to hopefully find some soft toddler spouts for Avent bottles/sippy cups.  The cradle sheets they had, the spouts they did not.  I checked out the clearance items, too, and found three plain, cute, puffy-sleeved tees for $2 each for Audrey.  Of all the things to be missing in a little girl’s wardrobe, Audrey did not have a plain pink tee, and I’ve been wanting one, especially for a hand-me-down skirt that I adore, that she was actually wearing today with a different (non-pink) tee.  I got a brown one, a white one, and a pink one.  One thing that’s great about living in the desert is that when all the summer stuff goes on clearance, you still have a good 2-3 months to wear it.  Well, from right now, only 1 1/2 months or so, but then, you can usually start wearing short sleeves in late February, and I’m sure she’ll still fit the shirts then.  Later, we went to Target, and ran into the mom who actually gave the skirt to Audrey!!  She’s always tickled when she sees Audrey wearing something that one of her twin daughters (who are now six) used to wear.

We may have a middle name picked for Fiala!!  Martin had wanted Marie, but when I found out it meant “bitter,” he wasn’t quite so enthralled.  It might end up being Gabrielle, instead.  (The deal is that, since he’s basically “giving” Fiala to me, as a name, which is not his preference, he gets to pick the middle name.  I’ve said he can pick ANYTHING, as I’m so thrilled to have Fiala.  Even Marie.)  Gabrielle means “woman of God.”  I like, it, too.

Audrey (and I) have a new favorite book, If You Were My Bunny.  It’s a cuddle-fest, perfect for little girls who take deep delight in baby animals and being sung to.  There are several original lyrics (about a mama rabbit and baby bunny, about a mama duck and duckling, about a mama dog and puppy, etc.) set to well-known nursery songs like Twinkle Twinkle, Hush Little Baby, and so on, that are built into the story of the book.  It starts

If you were my bunny, and I were your mama, I’d pick you out from all the other bunnies and nestle you beside me.  Then, you’d close your little pink eyes and I’d sing you a bunny song.

With lovely watercolored illustrations, and unabashedly tender words, it’s our new favorite.  We found it at the library last week, and I decided that we needed to own it, so I just bought the board book on Amazon.

Speaking of, Audrey is awake from her nap now, so I must run.  Enjoy your weekend!!

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on September 19, 2008, in Birth, Books for children, Clothes, Family, Life in the Desert, Medical Stuff, Memories, Motherhood, Pregnancy, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. What a lovely name!

    We are going to find that book… It looks so adorable!

  2. I find it strange that people are so openly negative about large families. Why do other people care how many children someone else has? I’ve caught myself being negative about it myself, which is weird. I think it’s fine to have lots of kids. Maybe it’s jealousy? Pregnancy is extremely difficult for me… I don’t know.

    I also find it weird that people don’t like Palin because she has five children (said in a disgusted tone). What? What’s wrong with that? We don’t live in China…

Leave a Reply

