My Husband Rocks… In Romanian

There has been a really sweet… umm…. whaddya call it?  Where folks write themed posts for a particular day??  Anyways, there’s one where women are posting cool stuff about their hubbies on Fridays.  Although I SO enjoy reading of the love, appreciation, and admiration each woman has for her love, this is only coincidentally connected.  😀

First, lemme say that I’m aware that it may not be the most extremely safe thing to proclaim, “My dear husband is out of town” but he is.  I’ve been avoiding blogging about it all week, but a) I miss him terribly, and b) I’m bursting my buttons with pride over him, and I felt compelled to write.

He’s in Romania.  Timisoara, to be exact.  At this church, to be more exact.  He, along with our pastor, Dennis Bourns, is leading a conference called Destination of Worship.  (The extremely short version of the purpose of the conference is to teach a worship team and a church body that they can be purposeful about the songs they choose, the tone they set, how they play, how the songs flow, etc., to make worship be UNTO something — whether it’s “simply” entering into the Holy of Holies and meeting with God, to encourage the prophetic, to lead the people to repentance, etc.  IOW, worship isn’t just singing songs;  it can be unto something.)

You can watch streaming video — perhaps.  It seems like their server will only accomodate a certain number of people, and it prefers that you use a Mozilla Firefox browser, and having a pack of K-Lite Codecs doesn’t hurt, either.  I actually haven’t seen any of the streaming video, though I’ve had success with the “radio” broadcasts (I opened it with a Real One player that I already had on my computer).

Anyways, I’ve gotten reports of what I already know:  Martin ROCKS.  My pastor, Dennis, has told me this, my pastor’s wife (who is here in town) has told me that Dennis is beyond thrilled with Martin, and a few minutes ago, our associate pastor (who is also Martin’s dear friend), Doug, called me to tell me how he rocks.

Martin, who up until about four weeks ago, spoke no Romanian, is leading all of the worship sets — in Romanian.  He e-mailed several times with a guy from the Timisoara church, who was able to translate a bunch of songs, then met twice (for 2-3 hours at a time) with a woman from our church who speaks Romanian, then practiced several times with the Romanian worship team.  Apparently, that was enough to get him solid.  Although he only speaks Spanish, he really does have an ear (and tongue) for languages.  Also, Romanian, like Spanish, is a Latin-based language, so a lot of of the words are similar, as well as the grammar structure.  However, the pronunciation is pretty bizarre, like nothing he’d ever heard/learned before.  Before he left, he lamented that he “only” knew 15 songs solidly…  I think 15 is terrific.

With Martin is one of our drummers (who is absolutely fabulous — one of the best drummers I’ve ever heard), and currently, our lone keyboard player.  Joining the team is also the lady who heads up our church’s prophetic art/art worship team, plus two guys from Northern Ireland — a fantastic guy who often ministers worldwide with Pastor Dennis, plus an intern.

It was SO COOL to hear, via the radio broadcast, the team working together with the Romanian guys.  By all reports, there is such freedom, fantastic teamwork, great communication, oneness of spirit and purpose… the people in Timisoara are totally taking to what’s being taught, the prophetic is flowing, everyone’s joining in wholeheartedly in worship… 

About half of the people speak English, but everything is still being translated.  This morning (which was actually tonight’s session, since they are 10 hours ahead of Arizona time), Jason (the keyboardist) had a prophetic song, in English… the guy who was translating is the normal worship leader for that church, and at first, he was just talking the translation.  But then, he started singing the translation, too, and it about put me to tears, hearing one guy sing, first in English, then the other guy, in Romanian.  It just spoke loudly of what’s going on over there.

All the fabulous reports confirm in my heart, “This is why it was almost easy for me to let my husband go overseas for a week while I’m 37 weeks pregnant.”

Well, it was easy for me to let him go, but it’s been tough here at home.  We all miss him.  I lean on him, and now more than ever that my energy is sapped with being so pregnant.  All of the visions I had of all the things I would do with all my “free” time without my husband being here… well, I’ve gotten about none of it done.  I just crash into bed at night, much earlier than I normally would.  Plus, we’ve had two evening baseball practices, and tonight is the boys’ first game — I’m just totally tapped out.

I can’t wait until he gets home.

Until then, I dearly hope I can see the two remaining sessions that are supposed to be streamed, but they both air at midnight my time — I don’t know if I can stay up that late!!!

Anyways.  He just rocks.  He’s doing valuable work for the Kingdom of Christ.  He is uniquely (and humbly) skilled.  The only way I could be happier about it is if we were all together.  😦

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on October 3, 2008, in Christianity, Encouragement, God/Christianity/Church, Music, Pregnancy, The Dear Hubby, Travelling, Vineyard Phoenix, Worship. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. What a special guy!

    I know exactly what you mean in that last paragraph! I have felt that way many times when ministry has had Gana and I apart for a while.

    I’m glad you did a “My Husband Rocks” post! Fun huh?! Are you going to try to do it every Friday?

  2. You know you have to do it every week now.

    That is so awesome!! What a testimony of God’s leafing and equipping!

  3. That is awesome!!!! May God continue to bless the ministry work that Martin and others are doing in Romania and all over the world!

  4. wow!!! he rocks!!! what an amazing story 🙂 thanks for sharing! we’d love to have you join us every week 🙂

Leave a Reply

