Even in the little things…

Until a few hours ago, I had really, really long hair.  It reached the small of my back.  It had been…  I think about a year and a half since I got a haircut.  Part of the problem is that I trust only one guy to cut my hair, and he works in Old Town Scottsdale, which is, in good traffic, a 50 minute drive from my house.  So, it’s the cost of a cut, plus babysitting, plus time…  I just rarely get around to getting my hair taken care of, even when I really want to.

My husband really likes it when I have long hair, but I was getting highly annoyed with it.  It was just too long.  I was surprised when, a week and a half ago or so, upon returning from a haircut (from the same guy) he told me that he had told the hair stylist that I would be coming in soon to get a cut, and that I’d probably want it about collarbone length.  Shocked, actually, I was.  Martin and I hadn’t even discussed it, and that was the length I wanted, but I was hesitant to tell Martin, as that would require me chopping about a foot off of my beloved-by-him hair.

So, yesterday, I was getting ready for church, and I thought, “Oh, I’d so love to get my hair done before Martin gets back tomorrow.  Wish there was a way…”

After church, I was chatting with my dear friend, Holly.  Holly and I have known each other since we were both 15 (twenty years ago!!!  How time does fly), and really didn’t like each other.  Things have improved dramatically since then.  😀  Anyways, she says to me, “I was looking at you this morning…  Here’s what I’d like to do.  I’m still on short-term disability and don’t have to go into work until next Monday.  How ’bout I come over tomorrow morning and watch your kids while you go get a haircut?”

Wow.  My jaw dropped. 😮

So, I called Rique that afternoon, and he did have a slot available at just the exact right time… after Holly’s own doctor appointment, and before my own.

Here I sit with my fresh new haircut, feeling like, yet again, God is taking care of me, and showing concern for my own concerns, even in the littlest of little things.  And, my hubby comes home this evening…  Woo hoo!!

I’m just happy.

And, now, with all the energy that simply being happy gives to me, I’m going to go fold laundry.  🙂

Edited to add pics, because taking pics of myself is one of my favorite things to do.  🙄

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on October 6, 2008, in Encouragement, Friendships, Housework, The Dear Hubby, Vineyard Phoenix. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. What?! No pictures?!

  2. Yes, those little details mean so much, don’t they? 🙂 Oh, and I’m with Daja — where are the pictures???? 😉

  3. Yay! Pictures!

    Wow!! What a great cut, and it suits you too — you look ready for the runway — watch out Heidi Klum! 😉

    (Oh, and tell Ethan you ARE smiling in that last one 😀 )

  4. You look great!

  5. Hi,
    Very hip cut. I really like it! I think you’ve got a great hair stylist!
    -Sharon

  6. Oooo la la, I like it!!! It looks great and I just love your *I really don’t want to take this picture look*… 🙂

  7. Very cute haircut! My husband also likes me to have long hair and it is such a pain!

    Cheers!
    Jamie

  8. I LOVE it!!! It looks awesome! 🙂

  9. Very cute. And proof that God does care about the little things! Doesn’t that just give you the warm fuzzies?

    I have a similar story that I’ve probably told you before. One morning I was shaving my legs in the shower and giving myself horrible razor burn due to an old razor blade. I was thinking how much I wanted a new razor blade, but we couldn’t afford one right then. That very day, I went to my mailbox and I got a sample of razors in the mail. I’ve never heard of someone getting a razor sample! Too weird to be a coincidence. But that also amazed me at the small details of our lives that God obviously cares about. God cared if I had hairy legs! 😀

  10. Beautiful! I love it! 🙂

    And I always love hearing how God cares enough about us that He even meets our wants at times. Very cool!

    Do you find yourself flipping your hair around as you get used to all of that hair weight loss?

  11. Thank you, everyone, for your compliments!! :blush: The good news is that my hubby loves it!!

    And, no, Melanie, I’d never heard that story!! That’s so cool!

    Mrs. N ~ No, actually, it feels like there isn’t enough hair to flip around!!! Now, a few days into the cut, I wish it was 3-4″ longer, but it’ll grow.

  1. Pingback: Even in the little things (part 2) « Only Sometimes Clever

Leave a Reply

